You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stairs in the Woods

in #photofeed6 years ago

Is that hay on the stairs? Someone obviously put a lot of work into building those. What kind of guest house was it? I would have felt a little awkward parking at someone's house and walking around! It does seem like a strange place to put a house, though there are plenty of homes in the middle of nowhere here in the USA, too.

Like Minnesota's own Dorothy Molter, who lived in the Boundary Waters of northern MN, without electricity or running water until 1986.

Nice photos, especially the staircase. Do you still use the X-t1? I really wanted to get an X-pro2, but I'm heavily invested in Canon glass.

Sort:  

I think it’s pine needles on the stairs! In Bulgaria they are everywhere! 😀

Thank you, Mark! @mdosev is right - these are pine needles :) I no longer have the Fuji, as I switched to Micro 4/3 several months ago, but I kind of miss Fuji's ISO performance and the JPGs, which were out of this world.

I just read the article about Dorothy Molter - what an interesting story! It's hard to imagine how she was able to hand cut so much ice from the lake for her root beer.

Those are some big needles! We have some pines with long-ish needles around here, but they're probably about 3" long at the most.

Yeah, Dorothy Molter was a bit of a celebrity, in an odd hermity sort of way. "Hermit Root Beer Producer" would make a pretty amazing entry on a resume.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69