California Coastline by Drone

in #photofeed6 years ago

Coastline near Montara California


DJI_0061.jpg
DJI Phantom 3, 1/1500sec, f/2.8, ISO 100 [3992x2992]
Click on image for full size


I thought my last post was about 2 weeks ago, way too long. Turns out I have not made a post in the past 23 days! Yikes! I was doing real good posting daily here for a while and I really want to get back into that habit. I took the drone out the other day to one of my favorite coast spots near Devils Slide, just north of Montara. There was really good cloud coverage on this day with nice openings every now and then allowing for the sun to come through. The sun was lined up just right on the shot below to light up the trail while leaving most of the scene in a shadow.

DJI_0063.jpg
DJI Phantom 3, 1/3200sec, f/2.8, ISO 100 [3992x2992]

Click on image for full size


Looking back up north at Devils Slide and the abandoned military bunker.

DJI_0057.jpg
DJI Phantom 3, 1/1500sec, f/2.8, ISO 100 [3992x2992]

Click on image for full size

Sort:  

Great pics , amazing views / I need to go there

These are great pics! I love the bottom one with the rock castle.
Thanks for posting the exposure details, still learning this part myself on my mavic. The post I just made at Castlewood Canyon are a little washed out, and not as high res.

Washed out could be just the time of day. The sun has its way of stripping away all the color during mid day. I take the bulk of my shots within a few hours of sunset or sunrise for this reason. Also make sure you are shooting in DNG not JPG so you can make better adjustments in post. SOOC (straight out of camera) photos are usually always lacking in contrast. I make micro-contrast (clarity in LR or PS) adjustments to all my photos in post for this reason, also de-haze adjustments can help.

Thanks for that info. I've just started playing with some of the ND filters and adjusting other settings. Haven't even started to play with any post-processing yet. Just copied them over. Looks like it's time to brush up on my editing skills and study for upping the quality.

Wow, perfect shots! I wish I was there... Seems like a beautiful place

Great photos. I love the landscape of the coastline there. I’m looking forward to moving back to California.

Wow :) Your Pics are amazing :) Thanks for sharing

Lovely photos @fivealive55. I love drone photography and have a Mavic Air. My personal favorite thing to do is a 360 spherical panorama! Following you!

Great work! Drone and Steem on!

I was wondering where you'd gone. Welcome back!

wow amazing shots, doesn´t get much better!! first photo is unreal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27