Seascape in infrared

in #photofeed6 years ago

5a09b182-74c0-4476-89ff-2adb4e8a9db8.jpeg


Infrared images can in some way nudge our vision out of its normal "orbit" and our own perception becomes unfamiliar to us. We are used to the fact that grass will have a certain luminosity for example, normally quite dark. And so this little shift in luminosity, when grass shines up in bright white is quite appealing to me. This image is recorded mainly in red light and infrared light using a 720 um IR filter.
Cheers, Erlend


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

Great effect!

A very good photo @Erlendgroseth.
I am curious about how you took the picture.
I assume you have used long shutter speed and wide angle.
Is it possible that you reveal some of the technique to achieve this amazing picture?

Hi there @Siggjo,
Thanks for you question.
Capturing images in IR is pretty straight forward. You compose your photo, make sure it's sharp using auto focus. Then turn off the auto focus, attach the IR filter in front of your lens and take the image. Now, the exposure time for IR is different from exposures in the visible spectrum. They tend to be quite long. Normally between 20 sek and a couple of minutes depending on how much IR light that's available. (For me that's a trial and error process, could be that someone figured out a way to calculate the exposure time)
Now, the interesting bit of the workflow: the image in your car is now a sort of bleak red image lacking contrast. In Photoshop I convert the image to Black and White.
Here is an example of before and after.
_MG_0172.jpg

_MG_0171.jpg

This is an image I shot in Lofoten, Norway a couple of years ago in the middle of the night.
Please feel free to ask if you have further questions.
Cheers, Erlend

Thanks for your detailed description @Erlendgroseth. I would try to use this technic myself. I am also grateful that You would answer my further questions.

Hey there, i kinda neglected my feed in the last days. Sorry for that.

What a great shot! Love IR photography, post more of this. They have such an eerie mood.

Hi my friend. :)
I'm not focused on my feed all the time either. There is too much going on, all the time.
Thanks for the encouragement, I enjoy the IR workflow as well so will definitely post more of them in the future.
Cheers, Erlend

I’ve included this in my Steeply digest for Steepshot related posts here: https://steemit.com/steepshot/@scottcbusiness/steeply-the-steepshot-digest-4
Also you can share Steepshot related content on Twitter and Facebook using #Steepshot and they’ll repost/like it :)

Awesome results. its cool that i see this here cause i was thinking of trying the illford sfx film sometime soon. have you tried it and if yes can you show some shots. Otherwise thumbs up from a new follower :D

Thanks for you comment.
Ohh, Illford is the way ahead! ;)
I've not used SFX myself, but sometime ago I shot some portraits of my son using this beauty:
file.jpeg
I used an old box camera from 1930'ish... Unfortunately I didn't scan them.
Looking forward to see your SFX images on Steemit.
Cheers, see you around. :)
Erlend

Yes, The xp2 is really cool. A friend of mine got an old TLR camera and i advised him to get this for the push and pull range and the cheap processing :) Otherwise i would have to get a filter and some film to trpy the infrared. And where im am it started snowing again so i can wait for now :D And if the film is developed why not scan it with a DSLR ?

I never try that technique before, but I like the results :) wich camera do you use?

Hi @Victhor
This image was shot with a Canon 5D in combination with 17-40 F4 L and the Hoya IR72 filter.
Cheers, Erlend

wow love your photos! ;)

I like this alot 👏

A super black and white photo. Almost like a painting. Very nice picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64300.62
ETH 3165.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56