If these trees could talk

in #photofeed5 years ago (edited)

fullsizeoutput_2304.jpeg

I’ve had the wonderful opportunity of spending a bit of time at one of my favourite places recently - Blenheim Palace. I’ve been ramping up my Actifit steps by running around the parklands of Blenheim whilst visiting my Mum who lives close by. Ever since I was a child Blenheim has held a place in my heart and even now, 30 odd years later, I always have a longing to go there when I’m in the area.

fullsizeoutput_22bf.jpeg

One of the best things about Blenheim is the trees. Some of the parkland has been left wild as it would have been hundreds of years ago with dense forest and several ancient Oak trees. In these parts it’s interesting to imagine how England would have looked before we chopped all the forests down. Some of the Oaks have stood for hundred of years, probably long before the Palace was built in 1705.

image.png

In Blenheim I learnt how to ride my first bike, I collected conquers every autumn with my siblings and I played hide and seek amongst the whispering beech trees. At Blenheim I fell in love, more than once, I picnicked with close friends and it was the place I missed most about home whilst on my Gap year in Asia. I dreamt of the Autumnal leaves falling from the tree's and fantasised about coming home to walk in Blenheim. I remember Blenheim was the place I so desperately wanted to take my first newborn for her first walk in her pram. As I tucked the soft blanket under her chin I remember the feeling of immense comfort I felt. The early summer sun was shining down on her face as she purred in her sleep and I hoped she would grow up to love this place as much as I do.

My late father took us on a picnic in Blenheim shortly before he died. He brought homemade scotch eggs and we drank red wine out of plastic cups sitting on a woollen rug overlooking the lake. All of a sudden an almighty thunderstorm interrupted the mid-summer heat and so we ran for the trees giggling... a memory I shall cherish forever.

fullsizeoutput_2273.jpeg

As I ponder the significance of my memories at Blenheim I can’t help but wonder if my kids will ever really appreciate Blenheim in the way I do. They will find their own Blenheim somewhere else. Our memories are futile. How can a memory or emotion attached to it bear so much significance to us yet when we are gone no-one will ever know of it? Very important events such as wars are always recorded and remembered for generations to come. But personal things that happen to us… no matter how important they are, get lost after a generation or even earlier.

fullsizeoutput_2275.jpeg

It’s hard to understand why the Universe has made us appreciate and long for familiar places and why it provides us with overwhelming emotions of attachment. What purpose do these feelings have when very soon the slate will be wiped clean? What was once a very poignant place to an individual will just be another stately home to the next person that walks in that park.

The ancient Oaks are the only witness' to the past and maybe that's why we are drawn to them and find them so enchanting. We know they will carry our secrets longer than we ever can.

Sort:  

Truth is... mother nature is not sentimental... it's us humans that are.. and I think these emotions have served us well along our evolutionary path. It is important to care about things.. people and places. They add great meaning to our lives and I believe that it is this meaning that gives us the reason to navigate all of life's trials and tribulations.

So it all comes down to evolution? such a disapointment. I wish there was more to it!

Evolution is pretty incredible though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

I enjoyed reading about and seeing Blenheim. It makes me think.... what place would that be for me and why. Thanks.

i'd be interested o hear about it when you do!

Hi @elizabethharvey!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.849 which ranks you at #29369 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 110 places in the last three days (old rank 29259).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #124.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61