Dunnottar Castle Scotland – Funky Tintype Edit

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Like an echo from a ruined castle,
prayer is an echo from the ruined human soul of the sweet promise of God

(William Arnot (1808–1875), a Scottish preacher and theological writer)


tintype dunnotar.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!


CameraEOS 5D Mark II
LensEF50mm f/1.4 USM
Exposure1/100 sec; f/20; ISO 1250
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2017, Adobe Camera Raw, Topaz Adjust 5, Topaz Texture Effects 2 and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2

I had fun playing with this image to create what looks like the old tintype images that I have in a box somewhere! I was inspired to create something old when I saw a neat post by @winstonwolfe who created an image using the wet plate collodian look.

The tintype(ferrotype) did not actually use tin. In fact a positive image was created on a thin sheet of iron which was coated with an enamel or lacquer on top of which was a light sensitive photographic emulsion. They were extremely common in the late 1800s and were often offered at fairs and carnivals, because the process of making them was pretty quick.

In order to create my faux tintype, I started out in Photoshop CC 2018, but then added different layers from Topaz Adjust 5, Topaz Texture Effects 2 and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2. I experimented with different blending modes until I came up with this result. I think it portrays the mood of this old ruin, don't you?


Thanks for the fun #funkyedits tag, @tattoodjay and @krazypoet. Thanks to @old-guy-photos for #monochromemonday and to @winstonwolfe for creating #wwtop5pix.


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for photography tips and tutorials from me, and some Resteemed from others!


Please check out this post to read about this week's wiwcontest theme.


my banner.png


Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been featured in The Daily Spotlights of 5 March 2018!

Thanks again!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 4 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I really like the quotation and the photo! They go well together. That castle certainly has/had a spectacular view, yet the location seems bleak and dismal. Or maybe that's the result of the funky edit!

It was quite stormy the day I got the shot, so it can be quite bleak there.

Came out good. You should try more with the right subject.

You don't like my subject? Lol!

No you misunderstood. This picture and subject are perfect. Just saying may not work on all subjects. capishe!

Lol! I did read it the wrong way. 😂😂

That really turned out nice! I need to play around more with that type of edit. I like it.

Thanks! My problem is that I go over and over it making so many changes. I need to learn to stop a lot earlier than I do. I do enjoy the process, though!

Wow this is amazing, I wish I knew how to do this ... so good!!

Eagle UpComm.jpg

Thanks! I'm glad you like it.

You’re welcome.

Nice. Thats a cool edit! And a great spot. Are you based in Canada?

No, I live in Florida, but I have British, Canadian and American citizenship. 😊

Nice work. That's just down the street from me. :-)

Thanks. I’m from up the coast a bit - Buckie.

Cool. You're a bit like me then. Lived all over. It's the best way!

You can say that again!after leaving home I lived in Aberdeen, Durham, London, Ottawa, London Ontario, Chicago, Connecticut, Atlanta and now Florida where I have finally been settled for nearly 23 years now!

Ha! You beat me then. Bradford-New Jersey-Scarborough-Aberdeen. And we're moving to Cambridge next month, so maybe I'm catching up on you! :-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53