Sometimes you have to get out of your comfort zone.

in #photofeed7 years ago

Recently I've been posting quite a few images from a workshop that we helped teach in Oregon last year.

It was a really great experience as it always is to help other photographers grow and learn, and to spend some time with like minded people. One of the most fun parts of any workshop of course is when we go out to take photos.

Sabrina and I led this shoot with our fantastic couple, who are actually photographers themselves, and one of the things that we tell most of our students is "Don't be afraid to get out of your comfort zone, and don't be afraid to ask your couples to get out of theirs".

Of course you may get a no when you ask your clients if they wouldn't mind stepping into the water and getting soaked, freezing cold, and probably ruining those shoes, and that dress, but that's ok (if you get a no). The point is that you tried, and you asked. There is another saying that I like to tell the students we teach: If you're not failing, you're not trying hard enough.

We all fail sometimes, some of us more than others, but the only way you will ever truly succeed is if you risk it to try.

Get out of your comfort zone. Try new things. Don't be afraid of failure, but know that it may happen. If it does, it will likely help you to learn.

Europe elopement photographer - Dallas & Sabrina-1-2.jpg

This photo was taken using a Nikon D750 camera and Sigma 24mm f1.4ART lens. Exposure was 1/2500 @ f1.4, ISO 50. The RAW image was edited by me using Adobe Lightroom 5.5 with a custom preset made by myself and tweaked for this photo.

As always if you enjoyed this post feel free to drop one of those sweet, precious, juicy upvotes on me! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to keep up with all of our travels and see new original content every day.

You can also see our professional photography work if you want to by heading over to our website dallaskphoto.com and dallaskolotylo.com.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

life is for the ones thinking out of the box! great shot!

I agree with you in those few lines. We all fail sometimes, some of us more than others, but the only way you will ever truly succeed is if you risk it to try. thnkyou for this kind words.
beautifull picture!!

It's important to keep trying! Glad you like the photo :)

You are really learning and evolving with your photography skills discovering new horizons :) ...excellent picture there.

Sometimes that's what we have to do as you say, that's what life says. Sometimes not as we expected. Your photo looks like a pair of newlyweds. Is that true?

Not quite newly weds, I think they are married though.

beautiful photo and a very good advise..true..i agree with what you have said..you will not achieve success without taking a risk.. :) thanks for the motivation

I'm glad it rang true with you, hope you are having a great day!

lets hope so..im not sure about it though..hard times :) thank you for asking

Nice advise.If we want to explore new things definitely we have to get out of our comfort zone
-cheers-

Totally, you'll never know what could have been if you never dare to try.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

This post has received gratitude of 1.54 % from @appreciator thanks to: @dexter-k.

Nice photo! I appreciate my adventurous couples so much! I think when we both go out on a limb the photos are so much better.

If you do not fail, you are not trying hard enough. I really like this kind of motivation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26