Yosemite Falls

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes there are no words to say that are worthy of the scenes before our eyes. Sometimes there is nothing to do but to feel, wordless and content.

Yosemite National Park, California.

Yosemite Falls
Click to view larger.

Sort:  

That light stroke is so beautiful @derekkind

Thank you, @gabyoraa! I love it when the clouds are like this - thick but with breaks allowing light to burst through. If you're patience you never know what will happen! :)

Definitely worth the the click on the larger view. What were the exposure details of your image if you don't mind me asking? Thanks for your post Derekkind.

1/500th, f/6.7, ISO 280, @62mm. Nothing special, just handheld. :)

Wow! I have no words

That makes two of us.

.......

.......

"wordless and content"

Hahahaha! I'm content with your content.

Yosemite Falls is probably my favorite waterfall. It boggles the mind when you look up at it, realizing that it drops 2,000 feet. Couple that with the fact that you can hear it from nearly the entire valley, it's like a whole-body experience.

I didn't know it was that tall, actually! Sadly I never made it to the bottom of the falls to experience it in that way, but you're right, its presence fills the valley! Magical place.

Very good! dramatic.
I never get tired of Yosemite photos and I've never been there. I have like a mental model of how it is but the real thing being there must be amazing.

You probably know it better than I did before I went there; nonetheless, I think the real experience is always better, especially in a place like Yosemite, where the scale of things is difficult to imagine!

Oh wow this is mesmerizing. It looks imposing because of the shadows.
Btw it reinds me a lot of Angel Falls in Venezuela. The fall is similar.

Yes, I was thinking that! I've never been to Angel Falls, but I've seen a lot of photos, and of course I would love to go there some day!

You must! It's a bucket-list spot for photographers

Well, I'll add it! :D

Love the light in this one, it somehow makes it look more isolated than it really is. Now I can hardly imagine that I risked my life to get to the bottom of that waterfall to snap a picture.

Oh no, don't do that! I didn't do any hiking in Yosemite, it was such a short trip!

Awesome lighting and exposure! Nice god light without overexposure, and you still have detail in the shadows.

Thanks, @alevaskye, good comment! That's the trick, making it dark without being too dark. Sometimes I add a vignette to overall darken the edges but simultaneously raise the shadows, so it's dark but there's still something there...

Thats amazing, I can't wait to get to Yosemite one day

Thank you, @cam.macfarlane and welcome to Steemit! :D

Thanks! It seems like it has a great photography community!

Yes, it's growing quickly. It's a good time to be involved here. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66541.28
ETH 3559.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.05