The Road Goes Ever On And On

in #photofeed6 years ago

Do you ever feel like you're at a crossroads, only to look closer and see that there's only one road, going in one direction - onwards - and your only choices are to stay still or to continue on (or just dash off the road and get lost in the woods)?

Sometimes life is like that.

IMGP9883.jpg

Sort:  

Colors are mesmerizing and it has a great composition...Now in Izmir it is 09.17 in the morning and it makes me feel good...

Thank you for sharing and have a good day my friend...

Well, that makes me feel good that it made you feel good! It was worth sharing!! :D

Indian summer in New England?

I think it was a normal early October day! I don't remember the exact location but if pressed I would guess New Hampshire. :)

I prefer to continue the journey, because it will meet the exit

Rather than the exit meeting you, right?

The colors of the leaves are incredible;)
Enjoy your weekend!

Thank you, you as well! :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 08:14:20
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 851.46/1600.00
Total Photos: 52
Total comments: 145
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

gorgeous colours... can't believe they make trees that way!

Yes, they're really been getting the color settings dialed in on those trees lately!

gift from the Netherlands? ;)

Haha maybe!

Can you go back, drama poet?

Yes...if you stand still, you will go backwards as the road continues on without you...

Scarily deep... thanks for the philosophical dose today! ;)

It's been that kind of day. :)

I think in one way or another, everyone has experienced that before. And everyone makes a different decision and if you go further, it may be the way you move on that changes everything. One way or another, a great picture!

I feel like life is more like a river. You go with the flow and occasionally steer out of the way of obstacles. But, if you try and go against the current, you'll just delay the inevitable and tire yourself out.
So sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride.

Yes, but keep an eye out or you might go over a waterfall!

Wow I never picked you as one to believe in fatalism.

Are you steering around the obstacles or is that just another river pushing you around them from an alternative dimension.

Friedrich Nietzsche was a fatalist of sorts and had this to say on the matter which really clears things up ...

"The fatalism of the Turk has this fundamental defect, that it contrasts man and fate as two distinct things. Man, says this doctrine, may struggle against fate and try to baffle it, but in the end fate will always gain the victory. Hence the most rational course is to resign oneself or to live as one pleases. As a matter of fact, every man is himself a piece of fate. When he thinks that he is struggling against fate in this way, fate is accomplishing its ends even in that struggle. The combat is a fantasy, but so is the resignation in fate — all these fantasies are included in fate. The fear felt by most people of the doctrine that denies the freedom of the will is a fear of the fatalism of the Turk. They imagine that man will become weakly resigned and will stand before the future with folded hands, because he cannot alter anything of the future. Or that he will give a free rein to his caprices, because the predestined cannot be made worse by that course. The follies of men are as much a piece of fate as are his wise actions, and even that fear of belief in fate is a fatality. You yourself, you poor timid creature, are that indomitable Moira, which rules even the Gods; whatever may happen, you are a curse or a blessing, and in any case the fetters wherein the strongest lies bound: in you the whole future of the human world is predestined, and it is no use for you to be frightened of yourself. "

I don't think I'm quite a fatalist. More like, you are who you are and can only do what you were meant to do. The future isn't written until it's written, but when you look back on it, it could not have happened any other way. You have the choice, but as the past catches up with the present it makes the immediate future limited and obvious in hindsight.
@derekkind The river will end in a waterfall whether you hit every rock on the way or steer towards calmer currents and delay the inevitable.

I thought the nanobots were going to save you from the waterfall ;-)

You might not think your a fatalist but what you describe above is a typical definition of fatalism and the 'illusion of choice' ("when you look back on it, it could not have happened any other way"). I do like the river analogy as I think there are strong trends and forces which limit ones ability to manipulate their path (if you start in one river its impossible to skip to a completely different one). But ultimately where I differ is that I think there are some forks in the river where you have to chose which part of the flow you move to (paddle to the left or right branch of the river) and an alternate life history could easily have been written if you made different choices.

In retrospect I have had several major life turning points and while I agree my future outcomes gets progressively narrower with the choices I have made (and diminishing time I have left) I don't feel like my past was in anyway obvious in hindsight. When I look back on it I feel that my past could have happened many other ways, depending on some simple choices that I have made (or at the very least perceived that I had the free will to make) throughout my life. Small life decisions which have cascaded into largely different outcomes which if they were made differently would have taken me down different paths (or forks in the river) altogether.

I mean, we're simplifying life in all its complexities to an analogy of a river or path. There's going to be differences.

I think I'm closely linked to Taoism as well.
My thoughts are:
A constant, random fluctuation between Order and Chaos that is even distributed across an infinite time is necessary to achieve true Balance in the universe.
Good and Bad are human constructs based on human emotion and morals and are not directly related to Order and Chaos.

I have 5 tattoos on my body and all of them represent Balance in one form or another. (post for another time)

Check out: "Wordplay" by John Langdon

No detail has ever been lost though simplistic generalizations ;-)

Lots to be said for Taoism. I will check out wordplay.

(insert witty 'scales of justice' tattoo meme here)

Well, check the riverbank before you accept your fate - there's often a portage. ;)

Tell that to Houdini!

No; actually I never feel like that. I am normally stuck bush bashing through the woods annoyed that I can still hear the distant traffic noise on the road in the valley all the while wondering which one of the 13 goat tracks going up the mountain ahead of me leads to the closest espresso machine.

Haha, way to reject the premise of my analogy! :D

Anything I can do to help ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61713.10
ETH 3399.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49