The Heavens Opened and A Light Shone Forth To Touch the Frost

in #photofeed6 years ago

castlejunction.jpg


"What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness" - John Steinbeck


This photo is dedicated to Matt Snell, a landscape photographer based in Banff, Alberta who was killed in a tragic climbing accident earlier this month. It was he who recommended Castle Junction to me, one of his favourite locations in the Rockies. I returned to this spot many times last year after he told me about it. You will be missed, Matt.


So many of my favourite elements are in this photo: mountains, water (rivers), trees, snow, reflections, sunrises and epic clouds. It was taken on a memorable morning in the Canadian Rockies, one of the the best areas in the whole world, in my biased but semi-informed opinion. Specifically, this is the Bow River at Castle Junction, near Banff, Alberta late in the fall, after winter's first kiss.

Here's one of my favourite pieces of classical music to go along with the photo. I know it's not Musical Monday but this composiiton fits the image and my mood tonight, so I'd like to share it with you, because songs are such strong informers and enhancers of photography, and musical melodies are woven throughout my art: I listen to music when I drive around looking for photos, when I process those photos, and when I write about those photos and post them to Steem.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-23T04:28:33
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 930.91/1600.00
Total Photos: 64
Total comments: 145
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow mate! This shot is incredible!

Thanks Cam! :D

You take amazing photographs, look forward to many more.

Thanks so much! :)

Congratulations on this one! Great capture!

Thank you! :D

Derek, what a beautiful tribute. The picture and music go together so beautifully and I looked at your picture and then his pictures as I listened. What a great photographer he was, capturing nature in all its splendor and glory. That music. Love it. I am one that loves silence and so when I find music this beautiful I will save it.

Stunning photo! Sorry to here about your friend, his portfolio is impressive.

Yeah, it's such a sad thing. He was an amazing landscape photographer. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59