Starry Wintry Night

in #photofeed6 years ago

Lake Blanche

Now that the heat of summer is approaching, it's time to hearken back to colder days in Utah. This is Lake Blanche, accessed from Big Cottonwood Canyon (which is not far from Salt Lake City). I hiked up here with @jarvie and friends a couple of years ago on a fall afternoon to find it was already freezing and snowy, which was just great for photos!

I kinda miss the cold and that fluffy white stuff, and I miss photographing the night sky, too! I look forward to getting out with the camera and taking photos of the stars sometime soon. It's been too long.

Lake Blanche

Sort:  

Stunning photograph @derekkind. I'm not missing winter myself but I can see why you would be when it gives you such beautiful photographic opportunities. We mostly tend to just get flat grey here!

Yeah....I don't like to be cold, but I don't like to be hot either, and it's easier to dress for the cold than the heat...and I do like winter pictures. :D

I feel the same @derekkind although the heat in the UK is usually pretty pleasant and manageable.

I really dislike wind though. Hot or cold I can live without that. 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-22T03:56:33
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 865.91/1600.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 145
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It's good to see some @derekkind photos in my steemit feed again. Nice shot!!! I hope you get to get out for some night sky photos soon...

Happy to finally be posting again! And thank you, I hope so...

Masterfully done - bravo!

Hey, thanks, Mikey!

Wow, superb pictures like always Derek :) Glad you are back!

Hey @theaustrianguy, thank you! I'm just sad I was gone at all!

Wow that is one absolutely gorgeous photo. That must have been a dream come true it's as close to perfect as I can think of. So many beautiful elements and the spot looks untouched. Love it, would love to see it in the summer!

I haven't been there in the summer, and I would like to see it then as well, but I like how it was with the snow in the foreground, it worked pretty well for my composition. Thanks! :)

I kinda miss the white stuff too! Awesome shot, nice to see your photos back in my feed!

Thanks, Verity, nice to see you too! :)

Welcome back pal! I look forward to seeing more of your summer adventures :)

Hi Tristan, good to see you! We'll see what the summer brings...not sure yet. :)

Love that hike... i did it a couple more times last year. I'll probably do it again a few more times this year.

Awesome! I'll have to join you again for one of them. Have you ever camped up there?

Haha yeah Did i ever tell you about my october trip... yeah it was a complete downpour in the morning. Pretty funny and fun.

I think i'll try again this year for sure.

Worthy of much admiration

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93