Rocket Launch: Sneak Peak

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Parker Rockettrail

Last weekend I traveled to Florida to photograph the launch of the Parker Solar Probe from Cape Canaveral. Propelled by a Delta IV Heavy launch vehicle, the probe is on its way to becoming not only the fastest human object ever, but also the closest human object to orbit the sun. It was a blast to watch it take off live and in person (pardon the pun). The launch coincided with the Perseid Meteor Shower (yes, that is a shooting star in the center of the frame - make a wish!).

A future post, when I've recovered from a long drive and many sleepless nights, will include more photos and the backstory of how I came to be standing on the beach at Jetty Park, Port Canaveral, photographing this historic launch.

Sort:  

Amazing photo! Lucky with the shooting star?
What where your settings?

Thank you! I guess you could say I was lucky with the shooting star, in the sense that it was placed nicely in the center, but I felt I was unlucky to only capture one good meteor in many hours of shooting on a peak night of the Perseid Meteor Shower. One of the reasons I made a special effort for this launch was because of the meteor shower, but the camera didn't pick up as many as I hoped.

As for settings, well, it's complicated. This was a composite of many still frames shot with the Nikon D850 and Rokinon 14mm lens over the course of a couple of hours. This is essentially a pano that includes 159 exposures for the startrails and a 398-second exposure for the rocket trail. I used Photoshop to patch the rocket trail (which went slightly off-frame) and to add the startrail reflection in the wet sand, which my lens wasn't wide enough to capture.

I like the star; but I often think that if I just have one star is it more of a distraction.

I know. In this case I think it's alright because of the novelty, but three would be better, haha.

The meteor shower was to fast to light up in your picture I assume? You were lucky that it wasn't cloudy at all! I couldn't see any shower because of the clouds...

Wow 159 exposures! You didn't shot those manually I assume? What is your workflow on these type of pictures? Really loving those startrails!

Perhaps, yes. With a larger aperture lens and shorter exposures I might have caught more of the faster ephemeral meteors instead of just the bright lingering fireballs. :\

And yes... very lucky with the clear skies! That was not what was predicted before I drove down there. I took a chance (I wanted to visit Florida anyway, but the launch was very much in doubt) and it paid off.

No, not manually!!! My camera has a built-in intervalometer, thank goodness! My workflow for shooting or for processing?

which camera are you using with a build in intervalometer? 😀

Think I would love to know both workflows. Never created a startrail picture but seeiing yours, I actually want to try it myself. I assume there is one (huge) story behind creating the 159 exposures and the work of putting all those images together?

Nikon D850 and D750 - but the Pentax K-5 I used to shoot with also had it. Such a useful feature!

Actually it's pretty simple to create startrails once it's shot! Open all the frames as layers in Photoshop, select all the layers and change the blend mode to "Lighten". :)

Oh damn you shoot with some beautiful camera's! You always bring them both?

you're kidding htat is all it takes to create those trails? Then the hardware part of this the shooting itself. What kind of settings you use for that many images. All the same or are the settings different from the first to the last image?

It's only recently that I've had both to bring anywhere (the D750 was broken), but now that I have both I will take both whenever I go places!

Nope, no joke, the software side of startrail stitching is super simple. Shooting isn't hard, either, if your equipment allows. Exposures are usually 30 seconds long, with the ISO lowish and the aperture adjusted so as not to blow out any highlights (especially if there are bright human lights in the frame). The settings don't change from first to last. Set the camera, then go grab a coffee and find something else to do for a couple of hours!

man!!!!
Your are among legends!
is this a composite shot or single?

Hehe, thanks!! :D

It's a composite of quite a lot of frames - 159 exposures for the startrails, another for the launch, and a few more for the background.

Thanks, Verity! :D

Such a cool shot Derek

Thank you, Sara! :)

Grate achievement... huge development in science and tech.. the launch of Parker Solar Probe is really a marvelous achievement.. the photo scenery is splendid... taken in a grate way... very nice post...

Thank you. :)

Good photography

Posted using Partiko Android

That is an epic photograph Derek of an historic event. A rocket launch and meteoroid in the same shot. Incredible.

Thank you, @molometer! The full story is coming soon. :)

Impressive, almost abstract!! At first sight, I didn't realize this image is a pano/composite. Really wonderful.

Well, it's not obviously a pano. Thank you! :)

MIND BLOWN! This is amazing and it took a lot to make this one shot happen. How far did you have to drive?

12 and a half to Orlando, and then a lot of back and forth between there and Port Canaveral. I booked hotels in Orlando not knowing the launch would be delayed and that I'd spend half my time on the coast. I was sooooooooo tired after.

Wow - no pain no gain!

I'm used to driving long distances but sometimes it feels longer than other times!!!

I feel your pain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66