Let There Be Light - Across Canada, Day 4 of 92

in #photofeed6 years ago

DSC_9854Edit.jpg

This moment in Pukaskwa National Park, Ontario, when the sun peaked through the low-lying clouds and lit up the foggy forest and lake, depth-separating an island from the far shore, was one of the most magnificent sights I have ever seen in my life.

This juxtaposition of time and space was awesome to behold - beyond the photo's power of conveyance.

I've struggled to process this image since returning from my trip. It has so much potential, but was technically challenging: difficult to recover detail with the extreme contrasts between light and dark without losing the magic: the overwhelming, undefinable, unreplicable FEELING that this scene evoked in me when I gazed upon it with my own eyes, even though I had to squint and avoid direct eye contact with the sun.

Few photos are so demonstrative to me of the huge gap that still exists between the best camera sensors and our superior naked eye perception, between flat 2D display and full-sensory 3D vision. The RAW file from my D750 looked nothing like reality; the edit, using Lightroom and Photoshop, is closer but still falls short, and always will. Still, I shall revisit this photo in the future when my processing skills are more refined, and try to chisel away more of the truth as I saw it on this morning in Northern Ontario.

Sort:  

What a perfect shot! Breathtaking!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!! :)

Hey, thanks! :D

Ow my ... Seeing this photo, so beautiful, and then hear you telling that the photo falls short to show what it was like. I guess the reality goes beyond my imagination because I can't imagine more beautiful then what I see here ...

Well, it's hard sometimes for a mere photo to fully capture the feelings processed by all of the senses when you're physically present in a place. :)

Our eyes are the best. Beautiful shot

Indeed! I'm so happy to have them. :)

Hi @derekkind!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.213 which ranks you at #2742 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 2736).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #82.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76