tree tuesday — green is a soothing color

in #photofeed6 years ago



Today it's raining. We are still in the throes of winter and this is usually the time when rain comes to melt most of the snow. I'm not tricked by this stunt, however. I know that more snow will cover the green grass and bushes.

For #treetuesday I'd like to honor green plants and trees.

In the first two photos there are nests in the trees. They are quite large and show the beginning of tent caterpillar infestation.

DSC_0553.png

DSC_0554.png

The caterpillars eat the foilage and leave the tree bare. Fortunately, they don't threaten the life of the trees. It's grossly disturbing, though, to walk under a tree that has thousands of 2 inch caterpillars crawling and seeing the large silken shelters or webs they make for protection.

photo source

And here is something to cleanse your eyes from that sight! Thankfully, this area wasn't infested.

DSC_0561.png

Green is the prime color of the world
and that from which it's loveliness arises.
Pedro Calderon de la Barca



photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved

Thank you @old-guy-photos
for initiating the #treetuesday photo challenge.


Sort:  

It can be hard to find lovely green this time of year. Nice to look back and dream of the warmer days. And I agree, the seething tree of caterpillars does kind of dig up some sort of 'yeeg' feeling from somewhere very deep and long ago when you first see it. Maybe a fight or flight kind of thing. Or just plain wiggidy causing... from too many scary movies? Who knows. But it is for real.

"Yeeg"....that's a great word. I'm going to steal that one!! It was creepy being near those things. The nests are interesting but I still felt "yeeg" walking under them.

It does have a certain sort of something to it, doesn't it? Especially with creeping crawling things. Just make sure to yell, "dds word" whenever you use it. Particularly when in public. OK, maybe not ( : Have a nice night.

They look like part of some SF movie scene..so large, never seen anything like that ever @countrygirl..

Ya...they are pretty gross. They're about 2 inches long....blech. I've never seen then turn into their butterfly stage though. I should look that up.

Ewww! Those things actually kill the trees in the upper peninsula of Michigan. My uncle used to take a torch to their nests to try and save the trees, which is also really kind of gross. They are fascinating to watch, though!

Nice photos—lots of writhing and wiggling!

I know...I know. Gross. They kill the trees in Michigan? I wonder if they are the same kind? or my info is incorrect. I mentioned to someone else about a horrible infestation north of here a few years ago. The roads were covered and it was slick.....eeeeewwwwww!

Ewwwwww... That sounds dreadful!

That reminds me of the story my parents told me of when they got caught in a frog migration. There were millions crossing the road, and they couldn't spend the night there... splat-splat-splat! Eww. Poor frogs!

Disgusting!!! ick.

It reminds me of Lorca's poem - Green, green, how much I want you green!

Who is Lorca? And why does he write poems about green things? lol

Those tent caterpillars certainly are unsightly and we have areas in NJ that get infested with them. If I had to guess, I'd say those might be locust trees. Nice post!!!

I think you're right @cognoscere re the locust trees. I think so too. They have a tendency to attract aphids so maybe that's why the caterpillars are there too.....leaves and aphids for dinner :)

This post has received a 5.13 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

That's crazy, never seen so many caterpillars in one spot!

You are really missing out!!!! lol

The pictures are beautiful but I shuddered at seeing all those caterpillars, that looks very impressive. It is not raining here this week. It is cold, but with blue sky and sun, so we enjoy the weather very much.

I know!! They are so gross. I brushed myself off after walking under the tree....blech! Glad to hear you have some sun and blue sky.

Wow...looks really great to share..thanks for your entry @countrygirl

I know, Michigan always teases us with a dozen or so false starts to Spring.

You know what's worse than a false spring? A tropical humid summer!!!

You got a 1.51% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @countrygirl!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86