perceptions matter

in #photofeed7 years ago


it's not what you look at that matters
it's what you see
Henry David Thoreau

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 4.35.39 PM.png

Do you believe that what you see is determined by how you hear or how you feel?



photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved



Sort:  

I love peonies, wonderful photo, the light and dark really makes the image pop. I do believe that, because when one is in a good mood or looking for the good in things, they often find them or see them in even a bad scene or situation. I also believe how you choose to see things also attracts what you will get to see. I just found you, so new follower!

Me too. Peonies smell the best in the summer. I'm glad you enjoy the photo.

What you say is true — if you look for love you will see love, if you look for rejection you will find that as well.

Thanks for the follow and insightful comment!

Wow, this is so very true. I could take something you say totally different from how another person sitting beside me does. And why, all because of how I am feeling or even just how I understand what it is you are saying to me. Great post @countrygirl

I'm glad you took something from this @seareader1. I'll bet on another day it could mean something else. :) I like to glean nuggets from here and there as well. Thanks for commenting.

And rarely we can see the things they really are :( No matter how we try to perceive it. Trough senses or our feel, and inner guts... Just by trying to comprehend something we "spoil" the true nature of it by giving it some of our 'touch' and how we see it. (If that makes any sense :) )
Cheers! :)

Yes it makes sense. It's like the old saying about "rose colored glasses" - seeing things the way you want to see them rather than for what they are.

Such a beautiful pic!!! Yes, I believe what I see is determined by how I hear and/or how I feel ^_^

Thank you @silviabeneforti - and thanks for the resteem.

Sure I think how we are feeling at a point in time will affect and color everything we see or hear...like hearing a song play while having a great time is then forever associated with that great time.

Very true. Have you ever heard a song in the store that reminded you of someone and you teared up? :)

Also, the color of the photo can cause a change in what you see - if I had left this photo in the original bright pink it might have evoked sunny happy feelings but with it painted in subdued muted tones I see a quieter, calm feel.

I love how you captured water droplets form on leaves. And my answer for the question is yes, I believe so. Think how we look at people we love?

ooooo, that's a great point. How do we look at people we love. Not always with love that's for sure! This has given me something to think about today....thank you!

What a big flower! I usually don't pay much attention to peonies, but now, seeing them only in black and white they look so amazing and unique. And the water drops look like diamonds scattered all over them.

About your question - I can easily believe that. Emotions have a great impact on our vision of the world.

Thanks @emmamia. I like the water drops too. I'm glad you noticed them as well. Thank you for your insights too!

Love Thoreau ; perception is everything in life. We all live such saturated lives now that we never have any space to see between the lines .

That can be true for sure. Everyone needs to take a breath, tune out the noise and just see.

👍🏼👍🏼

Thanks cognoscere....two thumbs up is so nice!

I believe that what I see is determined by how I feel which is determined by what I'm thinking!

lol....you're so funny. I had to wrap my brain around your statement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63