painted murals - street photography

in #photofeed6 years ago



First attempts are hesitant and a bit awkward.

Last week I tried my hand at street photography. I decided to capture what I was feeling in the moment and what looked interesting. I've shared a few of the photos already.

Today I am posting the wall murals and some graffiti I found throughout the downtown area.

I found only one artist's signature — the others are unknown. Two of the photos are of posters taped to a lamp pole and a wall.

Hope you enjoy them.





photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm | 55mm f/1.8
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018


Thank you @juliank
for initiating the Monday to Friday photography contests.





Sort:  

Some of these graffiti artists are really exceptional. I love looking at wall murals! some must have taken quite a bit of time...

I know right? I was really amazed at the talent and the details. Even the posters and the garbage can were interesting. I enjoyed that day that's for sure. I'll have to revisit at the end of the summer to see if more artists are contracted to paint.

beautiful colourful murals make old buildings relevant again

Yes it's very true. As long as they don't touch the Victorian buildings though :)

Some great shots. I'm digging the exposed brick work one:)

I like exposed brick too.....I've always wanted that in my house and like the old schools and factories that are now condos.

Me too:):):)

It is still sad that they don't mark them! Brilliant captures.

It's true isn't it. I'd love to see what else they create. Thanks @breezin. Happy Easter!

And a joyous Easter for you too!

oh wow!!!!! I loved the one of the faux graffiti wall!!!!! the shadows on the bars really make it pop out!

very very cool!!! and that one image that is edited... the boat on the water and the lights - SOOOOOOOOOO cool!!!!! I really loved that effect - great stuff, my friend :)

Graffiti can be really very artistic! and your capture of it - even more so ;)

Very talented artists and I want to know who they are....why?? Because. That's why. :)

Glad you liked it too!

That sixth photo, is it a mural? It is beautiful!

No, that one is wall paper....for what I was not sure. It's gorgeous isn't it.

Beautiful shots @countrygirl. I love the murals that bring the buildings back to life with history of the time the building was built or give the building additional architectural depth. We had a 2 story mural of Kurt Vonegut painted on the side of an old building in downtown Indianapolis. He was from Indiana. I loved walking by, he would look down at you with his funny smile. Is this the town you live in Canada?

Hey @birdsinpardise. No, we don't live in Dundas....but we are not too far from it. About 10 minutes maybe. We drove around today to look at some of the heritage streets to get some shots of the old houses - John loves the Victorian era so he was very happy with that. It's a very cute little town so we'll be visiting it often for walks and lunches at the pub.

We live in a village - so it's much smaller and although charming there is no where really of a downtown to walk around. However, we are close to the Bruce Trail which trails along the Niagara Escarpment all the way (from Niagara Falls) to Tobermory - which is up at the junction where Lakes Huron and Superior meet.

We live in a very beautiful part of Southern Ontario for sure.

I painted a mural on my niece's bedroom wall once, which I had to do in one weekend because she lived out of town. I've never been so sore or exhausted in my life. I can't imagine doing a whole side of a building. Nice photos.

Painted murals were really big a few years ago....I used to see them in Pediatrician offices and hospitals and cafes. I used to wonder about the work involved. Now I know someone whose done them.

Thanks @ginnyannette!

Wow! Looks like there is quite a bit of street art out there! I haven't seen much in Rochester or Mankato. It was everywhere in Spain.

I've never seen street art like this before....it's a pretty hipster town so no wonder really. I love Dundas. It's changed so much over the years.

Do you have photos of street art?

Dundas sounds nice. Hipster, eh? I'm assuming there's at least one really nice coffee shop, then! And maybe a place for that famed "avocado toast" that the younger generation seems to enjoy so much!

I didn't really take many of the street art in Spain, and there's nothing photo-worthy around here.

I love avocado toast!!!!....and I'm old. My son says I'm an old hipster....whatever that means.

Yes, it's a very mixed neighborhood with something for everyone. Tea shops, cannabis shops, vegan, vegetarian, non GMO, gluten free bistros. Coffee coffee and coffee places with outdoor seating which is nice.

Boutique salons and one of a kind clothing stores with all natural fabric....that kind of hipster downtown.

I'm sure there is a Whole Foods and beer making place as well.....who knows. It's cute there however.

That sounds great, actually. A selection of tea and coffee shops keeps things interesting!

harley1989 posted this before, you can check it

painted murals - street photography / http://steemers.aba.ae/m1411.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59162.63
ETH 2534.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47