Mundane as Art — Round 9 — Moss and Lichen — the green forest

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)



the clearest way into the universe is through a forest wilderness
John Muir

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 5.57.53 PM.png

The knowledge of an unlearned man is living and luxuriant like a forest
but covered with mosses and lichens
and for the most part inaccessible and going to waste;

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 5.54.03 PM.png

the knowledge of the man of science is like timber
collected in yards for public works,
which still supports a green sprout here and there,
but even this is liable to dry rot.
Henry David Thoreau



Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 6.00.11 PM.png

come to the woods
for here is rest
John Muir



All photos were captured in the Garibaldi Highlands, British Columbia



photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 18-55mm | 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved

Thank you @kus-knee (The Old Dog)
for initiating the #mundaneart photo contest


Sort:  

I wish i could be in the place you took the pictures, so relaxing, instantly stress less :-)

I want to be there too. You wouldn't believe how calm you become quickly when you walk through these trails. It must be the oxygen from all things green and the sounds of many fast running waters throughout.

Beautiful British Columbia!

Spectacular photos and compliments on your formatting! I need to learn form you!

Sure take from it whatever you learn. Thank you very much!

That is some lush moss! I recall you had iced over tree braches last time. Was this taken before winter set in?

Different locations. I live in Ontario and the mossy forest is in BC. I don't think I've seen ice on those trees.

That is a rain forest for sure.

So green. It's so refreshing probably bc of all the oxygen.

Fantastic pictures!!!

Thanks so much @carolineschell :)

You're welcome! It's true :-D

Very pretty photos! I really like the little stream. That would be a great place for a picnic. Well, at least it would be a good place in the summer. It's probably a little too chilly at the moment!

So true....way too cold. Fortunately it never freezes there, just rains most of the time. Snows, but not cold enough to freeze. There is a small bench close by and it's a fav place of mine to go to when I visit. The water is pretty loud for such a small stream and it's calming.

This post has received a 2.40 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

This post has received a 2.3 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @johnjgeddes

These are stunning photos @countrygirl. Where were they taken?

They really are great! Now we need moss from the Emerald Isle!

These were taken in British Columbia - I forget what the trail name is...I think it's Jack Trail but could be mistaken. Squamish is where I was - rainforest part of the Pacific Coast of Canada.

Thanks @gillianpearce. :)

Ah, I love moss and lichen! They have a glowing quality to them. I once took a photo of a moss covered tree at dusk and didn't expect too much of it, until I imported it in my photo editor and saw it was much more interesting and brighter than expected. Almost with an inner glow from the moss... I see that same in your first and last photo :)

I know !! ..... there is something dreamy or something...can't think of the word. There is a brightness to the moss -it looks unreal in a way. But that is what it looks like even in person as you've experienced. I love the different colors of the lichen. There are so many combinations.

I've been searching through my photo archive but can't find the photo I was thinking of - but I found a few others that I had forgotten about. I noticed you posted your images in response to a photo contest, so I might enter tomorrow as well :)

Yes. Do enter. It's actually a fun contest. Lots of people you can connect with right on @kus-knee 's post. If you click on the link I made - last line in green it will take you to the rules. Basically you make a post and then post your photo and the link to your post on his post. Too many post words. :)

Can't wait to see what you come up with ....

Yes I noticed your link and had found the contest post already :) I hope I don't forget tomorrow...

I'll be watching for it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45