hope springs eternal

in #photofeed7 years ago

The tree is more than first a seed,
then a stem,
then a living trunk,
and then dead timber.
The tree is a slow, enduring force
straining to win the sky.
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Wisdom of the Sands



We have had so much snow this winter and recently, freezing rain has covered it all in a shiny blanket of ice. As I was shooting ice drops from the maple, I noted little red buds at the ends of the branches. My tree is thinking spring time but the weather is still shouting winter!

I see this little red bud as a sign of hope.


Some days there won't be a song in your heart.
Sing anyway.
Emory Austin

DSC_0140.jpg


photo by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© 2018, © all rights reserved



Sort:  

Wow nice photo ! What was your aperture background is really blured i like it !

thanks @weberh8. I appreciate that. The aperture was f/5.6 - I was using my telephoto lens so as not to slip on the ice around the tree. ISO 200| 200mm| 1/160s. I think I need to change my ISO come to think of it. It should be on automatic at this point of my learning.

I always have ISO as low as possible. Which camera do you use?

I have a Nikon D3100 - basic learning camera - it does the job for me though. I have three lenses now. My newest one is a 50mm f/1.8 - Im excited about using this one. I have the basic kit lens and my telephoto one which I use mostly because I love landscapes.

That is very nice kit ! Keep it up, photography is beautiful and you never stop learning :)

Thanks for the encouragement!

Oh, that is hopeful, indeed! I will start looking closer for signs! Beautiful photo!!

Thanks Mel. Yes, we can share spring alert photos. hehe...

Beautiful shot! I hope the bud survives.

Me too.! I can't figure out why the buds are out - our weather has been brutally cold. On the good side though, this tree has been plagued with some kind of red spore (photo op soon) that turns black after a bit.

Thanks for the support!

Nice quote and picture as well as beautiful light and focus! Glad that I came by to have a look. =)

I'm glad you did as well. Thank you!

Beautiful photo! I'm hoping for a little more winter personally. Our snow pack in Tahoe this year is way less than normal. It's going to be another summer where all we hear about is "drought, drought, drought..." But I hope spring arrives soon for you!

We never seem to be satisfied with the seasons. I hope you don't experience another drought. I think we'll have a bit of a break this week and most of the snow should melt plus we have a big rain in a few days.

Thanks for stopping by~

We may still get what we call a "Miracle March" but we'd have to get a lot of snow to catch up. Enjoy your break!

It is a lovely shot and a lovely reminder that Spring may eventually show up after all.

Thanks @old-guy-photos. I'm learnin' I'm learnin'. It's always exciting to see signs of spring. I like all the seasons but I am always ready for the changes.

You got a 1.24% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Wow!♥Just wow!♥

Aw, so glad you like the photo! How's your steemit experience so far?

My experience is great! i absolutely love steemit!♥

Oh yes, the ice. Lots of beauty there, but watch your step.

I know!!! #askmehowiknow :) or...don't. Hence the telephoto lens useage. I can stand on solid ground and let my lens go to the icy bits.

And you got the shot just right @countrygirl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83