Exploding Skies

in #photofeed6 years ago

After a long road into the mountains, we set up camp at the base of this peak. The temperature was extremely low and we built a fire near our vehicle. As we were warming up the skies exploded. The aurora was so strong it was pulsing overhead for hours. We enjoyed an amazing show before the clouds began to roll in and hide the lights.

image-text
ISO 640 - f/2.8 - 8 sec - Alaska


Sort:  

The blue color is amazing! great shot and thank you for sharing this beautiful aurora!

I would love to be able to see this as a regular thing in my life

Have you ever seen the southern lights in your area?

I've been to Tromso in Norway to see them, and we can see the southern lights on the horizon from some places in Aus and NZ. But to see them more often and in full splendor would be great.

Me too - there's a chance to see the northern lights by me, but its rare. Still on the bucket list!

Awesome @Chaseburnett. It must have been bright, even the mountains are lit green! Definitely a resteem from me. Btw have you tried to do any realtime video of aurora?

Thank you! I would love to try but I definitely do not have the right camera for that. If I had the sony A7s that would be perfect. I've only seen realtime video once and it was by my friend Jake. He used the A7s.

This gives me an idea... I'll make a post tomorrow with some real time aurora video!

Un-freakin-real dude!!

This is just amazing!

Wow. cool...

Amazing - looks surreal!

Beam me up!!! Takes my breath away!

It always feels like it's aliens. Just waiting to get taken up one of these days

wow just amazing ! Hopefully i get to see this one day ! Looks amazing

Really hope you get a chance to. Good excuse to visit Alaska ;)

Magnificent! Excellent work (as always). :)

Thanks so much! Trying to improve every day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51