Worth It!

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

zg3p759mlj.jpg
Kyanjing Gompa(3900m), Rasuwa,Nepal
EOS 200D ISO 800 1/250 f/3.5 18mm

Traveling was hard for us around this time. On the very first day, unexpected monsoon struck upon us and it was said it wouldn't stop for days. The entire roadway was muddy and risky.

To add to that, our final 1/3 roadway was damaged by landslide and we had to walk over small paths made by Dozers and it was all very dangerous. We had to change buses multiple times due to it. It rained hard the very first night and the whole time, we were worried a lot.

For the next day i.e. the first trek day, we had to take a diversion, adding about 3-4 hrs to our planned schedule.

Our shoes were filled with Leeches and the uncertainty of path forward was always there, even when we took the so called safe ways. Trees were the only support we had on those river side trails.

But on the 3rd day and our final destination at 3900m on Kyanjing Gompa, Langtang Base, Rasuwa, Nepal ,we woke up to this wonderful scene. The whole pain was forgotten and the locals said we were so favored by the weather, which was expected to be worse for some more days.

I would say, it was worth it and will be one of the best memories for my coming days. An extreme adventure for us.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cave-man,
Your post "Worth It!" hast just been Resteemed !!! 🙂😉🙂
By following me, you have achived this service.


🙂😉🙂 Thank you for using our FREE Resteem Service @tow-heed😻😻😻

Stunning view!
Still squirming at the thought of the leeches though!

Don't you have them a lot in your garden during rainy seasons?

Not where we are. We're a very dry state and our rainy season is winter, if it happens. You have to go more towards the tropics, North of us. They creep me out, so I'm not sure how I'd cope with them. They're like blood sucking slugs and I don't like slugs either! 😨

For some reason, when the road ahead of us is hard we appreciate more reaching our destination :)

And those moments are forever to cherish.

I live in Indian Himalayas and the view is pretty much like here. Love from himalayas.

Posted using Partiko Android

We are pretty much the same people, my friend. Love from my side too.

Beautiful picture after your ordeal. Eeeeks..leeches. did they suck blood from your feet? I’m glad everything worked out and left great memories.U&R

There were so many of them that we started ignoring them. Sometimes we plucked them hard and threw them down the hills haha.

Amazing view of Himalaya mountains. I truly understand it must be tough drive there and top of that weather is not good. I really liked your post resteeming it.

It is always so amazing when people can relate to your post. Thank you so much, friend.

Great adventure. I did not think you would try to tame the leeches but I was wrong. 😂
Thank you for sharing this amazing photo and making us think twice before attempting to climb this mountain. 🙂

I ignored those leeches as if they were nothing lol. I heard later from other travellers that they were seeking attention and love because of me.
Looks like my darling reblogged my post as well. ❤

Of course I reblogged the post. I'm proud of my nemesis achievement. 🙂
I could only imagine the love and attention you spread on your way to the high peak. 😂

lovers turned nemesis. This is bad.

If you wasted your affection with some leeches... 😂

Wow! Awesome photo! I'd love to visit Nepal!

You should, my friend. You will get to know amazing stories and return back with amazing memories.

I hope I go one day! Thanks so much!

Leeches and landslides? This sounds like my kind of adventure, I may have to make a trip out to your part of the planet sometime soon!

I see that your are hiking all the time. You should really plan for it man.
I would recommend ABC(Annapurna Base Camp) or EBC(Everest Base Camp), they are very safe for tourists and worth your first trek here. Height can be a problem for you but not so if you plan accordingly.

Just looked those up, I'm definitely going to plan a trip, I gotta spend some time in the Annapurna Conservation Area at the very least. I'm familiar with acclimating to altitude although 4,300m is about the highest I've been :)

Annapurna Conservation area gives you two options:
If you plan for ABC(Base Camp) the highest point is 4130m. So it wont be a problem for you then. It is quite easy and very much safe.
Another option is to go round the Annapurna circuit (highest point about 5500m). I haven't done it yet and don't know a lot about it. But you can do your research and plan it. All i know is, the next thing to do after base camp trek is circuit trek and there are so many things to explore in this one.

I may just have to do both. What time of year is best for trekking?

I would say OCT-NOV but the route might be a bit more crowded at this time. Second best is MAR-MAY and that's when i have traveled the most.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62690.68
ETH 2463.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62