Milky Way rising above Causey Reservoir

in #photofeed6 years ago

PHOTO


Causey-20180512-DSC00007-Edit.jpg

STORY

Last Friday night around 9pm I did a live video for my local night photography group and I discussed some resources that I use to plan my milky way outing. As I pulled up cleardarksky.com I noticed that the skies were going to be clear for a couple hours last night, which was a nice surprise considering we've had 2 days of rain here in Utah.
After my video I sent a text to @mason_spencer to see if he wanted to head up to a nearby reservoir for a quick shoot.
As I told my wife that I was going to go out she made me promise that I wouldn't stay out all night because of Mother's day and that I still had to get up when the kids wake (7 am or earlier on the weekends) AND make breakfast for her.
I'm happy to say I kept my promise to my wife even though my eyes are currently burning and I have a throbbing headache from lack of sleep, and I was only out until 3.

About the photo and location...
As we pulled up to the location I climbed around a bit to see if we could get near the water from our location, I ended up scrambling down a steep hill in the dark, with a flashlight that was shorting out every other step. I found a little rock ledge I could shoot from and Mason decided to climb down a little further down the hill to get a bit closer. He ended up as a nice foreground element for me, I'm very impressed he held still enough for ~6 minutes.


EXIF

Sony A7RIII, Sony 16-35GM
Foreground: 357s, f/2.8, ISO 1600
Sky: 15s, f/2.8, ISO 12,800

Sort:  

Super cool shot @caseygrimley! And congrats on getting up early to keep mom happy!

Very cool. Who is that in the photo?

Thanks, that's my buddy Mason

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-16T22:36:18
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 945.84/1600.00
Total Photos: 70
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 11
And have also received a 0.44 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I have not seen a photo quite like this before! Amazing work!

Apparently, I have missed your immense talent so far here on Steemit. It's great that all your photos seem to tell something also about yourself and your life. Please keep up the great work! 👍

your hard work really did pay off, with that kind of effort for this magnificent shot and you fulfilled your promise. :)

6 minutes!!! That's a long time for anyone to stand in one place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95