You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Vertical Landscape | Theory + Photo Challenge

in #photofeed6 years ago

Hi Justin, great post! I totally agree that vertical landscapes are not seen enough, of course there is a good reason if the photo is intended to be displayed primarily on a computer monitor because as you noted you have to zoom out (unless you have a super high res monitor I suppose) to see the whole composition. That being said, I wish more photographers would open themselves up to vertical compositions and at least consider them when framing a shot. I think what I liked most about this post was your discussions of what you were trying to accomplish with each shot and why you decided to go vertical. I think this post could help a lot of beginning / inexperienced photographers expand their horizons (okay, so maybe not literally, I suppose this is actually narrowing horizons? LOL).

Great photos as well :)

One thing I would personally like to see as a curator is when you are reposting a photo here that has been previously published elsewhere, acknowledging that would be nice. I see the middle shot with the cloud on your instagram, while the other two I do not see on your other online presence (although there is a similar shot to the bottom one likely taken at the same time and location on your instagram).

BTW thanks for linking to your Steemit.com blog in your Instagram header! I love seeing that :) Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

Hey thanks so much for the feedback. Very helpful! I agree with your point of vertical format being difficult to view on a computer unless it's high-res. I've got a 4K screen and it still doesn't show the whole image without zooming out.

I do have a question about crediting the work on here that I've posted else where. I'm guessing that's simply to increase transparency and let people know some of the content may not be original to Steemit? What if I post work here first, and then also post to IG or somewhere else at about the same time. Good practice to always link that work? Still on a learning curve to best practice here on Steemit.

You'll notice also that there will be quite a bit of work that I post here that is also for license on my commercial port over on Stocksy. Should I be linking to that?

Thanks again!

yeah it is just for transparency - a lot of people (myself included) like to reward posting that is original to Steem. Posting first here and then cross posting elsewhere like IG would be my personal preference - purely because it helps boost up the relative search rankings of Steemit.com. I think (again this is my personal opinion here) it isn't as big a deal for images you have available for license in commercial portfolio - and ultimately, it isn't a big deal in any case when you are the content creator / owner, of course you can post it wherever you want :) It is pretty common to see people note when images were previously published on Instagram or an article was previously published on personal blog, and I think in those cases it is pretty standard best practice. I don't think I have seen many people providing source attribution to a commercial clip portfolio though.

BTW, in the case of your post you are of course you are adding a lot of value to Steem blockchain anyway with your original text :) I am impressed with your posting - cheers - Carl

Thanks for the Steemit related tips. Points well taken. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86