Marovo Lagoon

in #photofeed6 years ago

Marovo Lagoon is the largest saltwater a lagoon in the world, it played a key part in World War 2. This was photographed on one of the destroyer ships that was sunken in a battle. The visibility was terrible to say the least, going down the line I could hardly see my dive buddy.

This fish is a coral whip gobby. You need to be incredibly careful when shooting fish on whip corals, if you accidentally hit the coral the polyps will retract and the photo won't be as impressive. Unfortunately I rushed this photo as I was running out of bottom time because of my depth. I shot this at a 50th of a second if I had increased my shutter speed to 200th of a second and had my strobes to full power I would have decreased my back scatter in the background to almost nothing.

As a photographer you need to be able to look back at photos and know what you need to do differently next time to improve the shot. I have similar shots of a whip coral goby with no backscatter but unfortunately not on this striking coloured coral.

Canon 5D Mark III, Canon 100mm Macro, Aquatica water housing
1/50, F22, ISO 250

1D2A7934.jpg

Sort:  

logoAsset 5@2x copy.png

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's manual curation trail with a curie direct follow vote. To get involved in the future of @photomag please check the @photomag blog. Vote for @markangeltrueman witness here



Photomag is a new proposition by @markangeltrueman on the STEEM blockchain that aims to create a STEEM backed photo magazine website

Thanks a lot i'll be sure to add you into my tags

Such a pretty shot!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-23T00:15:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 224.60/200.00
Total Photos: 35
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.78 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82