The malachite kingfisher (Corythornis cristatus)

in #photofeed4 years ago

So I think I found my new favorite spot to go birding! It is called Rondevlei nature reserve in Cape Town, it is where I got some of my best photos of the last month or so.

Here is one photo I am really proud of, it is a malachite kingfisher, this sub-adult came and sat on a reed less than 5meters from where I was sitting, so I had to move slowly and without making a noise to be sure not to scare him away, and then I just went crazy and took close to 50 photo in portrait and 50 in Landscape orientation.

So here it is, I think my best photo of a malachite kingfisher up to date, enjoy!

DSC_5434.jpg

I love his pose and the light! You can see he is a sub-adult by looking at his beak, when they are born they have black beaks, but as they grow older the beak will turn bright orange.

I hope you enjoy this post, if you could enjoy it about half as much as I enjoyed taking this photo you should be having a very nice day!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it.
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it


Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @phage93.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Congratulations @callierhino! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19