Portrait of @danieldyemusic

in #photofeed7 years ago

Over the past few years, I've dabbled in portraiture. I love just taking a person and trying to make a cool picture of them, as "simple" as that sounds. But good portraits often have multiple parts to them. There's everything that makes a good photo (light, composition, etc.), and then there is the story behind the person. A lot of great timeless portraits take some of the person's characteristics and bring them along in the photo, however subtle. Anyways, this is a shot I took of @danieldyemusic while filming a music video for him. He's a folk music writer, and I really thought the browns and dulled colors sort of played along with his general style of music. It was a very simple one light (window) shot, but it's one of my personal favorite shots that I've done. All of this to say . . . over the next few months, I'm going to try and get better at portraits. Along the way, I'll be posting a few of my favorites. Since there are so many photographers on here that I look up to, if any of you have any constructive criticism or tips for me, I'd sincerely appreciate it. I've learned that to truly get better at something, you need to have an open mind and listen to those around you. That doesn't necessarily mean you have to agree with everything you hear, but being able to step back and critically think about your work and how it could improve for next time, will eventually train your brain to focus on the right things.

Also, be sure to check @danieldyemusic's music out!

IMG_4751.jpg

SettingsISO 800, 1/125, f/2
CameraCanon 6d
LensCanon 50mm F/1.4
LocationMutual, Ohio
Sort:  

This may be my favorite portrait you've ever taken. The colors work so well and his right eye pops so hard. I give you 11 stars.

Thanks dewd. It's probably my favorite portrait too. That @danieldyemusic is just so hot right now.

True story young man!

Well, I think it's an awesome shot. His outfit, the atmosphere you created with the window light does give it a vibe of a folk music writer. If you are into portrait. I really recommend an episode on the Netflix series "Abstract" and I think it's episode 7. It talks about one of the greatest portrait photographers of our time, Platon. He might not be your style, but his way of connecting with the subject is really cool. If you watch it, tell me what you think about it.

By the way I have found that steemit has a lot of great photographers and the good thing is that they share and comment a lot more than in other social media, so it's a perfect place to learn.

I have actually watched that one! It's awesome. Definitely a different style of photographing than what I am, but I love watching him, and seeing what all goes into his work. Super awesome episode. That and the very first episode were my favorites.

Great shot!

Lovely portrait, especially if you say you don’t capture them often. I find that the hardest part of taking a portrait is capturing the right light, but you’ve really nailed it here! I feel like that contrast between the shadows and highlights adds so much mood to the shot!

I honestly have no critiques of this shot and I look forwards to seeing more of your portrait photographs :) thank you for sharing!

Thank you very much. I was really pleased with the lighting there. I appreciate it!

Really lovely shot. A very honest feel to it

There's 2 things that matter in portraiture I find.
First is the technical stuff, lighting exposure composition etc.
The second is the Jedi mind tricks you need to do to make your subject do what you want them to do.

I like this, works well.

Mmhmm, I need to practice up on my Jedi mind tricks, that's for sure :)

Thanks @andrewmckenna

That's a fine looking man.

I have no critique, I just want to say that the lighting is awesome and that this photo rocks.

He's more of a folk writer instead of rock'n'roll, but I'll take it! Thanks young man

I knew that was coming. ;)

Wow, no constructive criticism for me on this one. Just keep doing what you're doing with portraits because this one is fantastic.
I totally agree, a great portrait has parts of the subject's personality with it, however obvious or subtle.

@natbillings thanks man! Love seeing your work here. Great stuff!

Really great portrait, I love the tones and I think they definteily suit his style like you said! the framing works really well too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61204.65
ETH 2452.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58