Why are you not visible in the pictures? Light Painting dress code

in #photocircle4 years ago (edited)

Is there Fashion for Light Painters ?

This is what you would look for: to be invisible to the camera, on the hope you do not leave any trace of your presence in the pictures created. This is how it works.

Three Light Painters and the model.

LightPainting-Gunnar-Heilmann_USA-Arizona-White-Pocket-ZachAllen-DanRoberts-JulyThornton.jpg

It’s up to you the sartorial choice for invisibility. Most Light Painters do not want to leave a trace of themselves in the photograph they create. Black becomes the easiest path to hide from the camera.

The main fashion statement would be:

„All Black“

When you see a Light Painter go shopping for clothes…. its very likely something in black.

LightPainting-Gunnar-Heilmann-clothes-Black.jpg

Here you see Cisco from Marroco and me. Both of us of course in black!

LightPainting-Gunnar-Heilmann-clothes-Black-with-Cisco.jpg
When you see a Light Painter go shopping for clothes…. its very likely something in black.

Plainblack clothes will not prevent you from leaving a trace in the picture: you will need to keep moving your body as well as our light sources.

LightPainting-Gunnar-Heilmann_USA-Arizona-White-Pocket-tree-stars-green-extra-arm-visual.jpg

LightPainting-Gunnar-Heilmann-Spindlersfeld-smile-face-show.jpg

In both images you can find hints of the hidden photographer. One can wear as much black , but sometimes you just end showing up in the picture. A face, a hand, a foot or just the zipper of your pants… In a way, I started embracing these little human `presences´. I started liking it. Its like a prove I was there too.

Many people would not even recognise the arm sticking out next to the tree. There is a small part of the „How to“ story: If I show up, it would sometimes be a feature.

Have a closer look at the second picture. At first there was a full on concetrated busy face. Then I understood that my face gets lit by the tool. Instead of putting black tape on the back of my tube, I smiled into the camera. Have a closer look in the circle!

Leave no trace? Thats up to you!

2016_10_21-11_14_OZ-(675)-2000.jpg

Final notes: It’s your art, you decide what you like or not. You might want to make it a feature and make it work in your favor.

In the image shown here, my feet were an intentional feature. I lit my legs and created an interesting bouncy light trail.

Started as a test, then it got incorporated into the concept.


Glad you found your way to my feed to enjoy my art work.
For more of this kind of art look for my personal pages:

Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

My Website My YouTube channel My Facebook Page My Instagram Feed

Since iam one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, i also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on Steem.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Steem i would appreciate your deligation of SteemPower. How to deligate:
Delegate 100SP, 200SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 2000SP, or even 5000SP
Any amount is welcome and helps a creative community to grow on Steem.
Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80