You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A few Weather vanes

in #photocircle5 years ago

Weathervanes are a popular New England item, at least when I was growing up. Or perhaps because Great Grandpa was a part-time blacksmith? Although most we made of copper that I remember, not all were and there was an art involved in making them.

Many barns were made with cupolas, to let the heat out of the top and topped with the weathervane, probably as much for looks as function. My father's family has strong ties with the Mennonites in Pennsylvania and it is there that they used them all the time for weather and wind, not having to depend on the television weather forecast (as they didn't have electric. )

Anyway, I digress.

I love all of the wonderful pieces of art topping those roofs. It is a lovely touch to finish off any house, in my opinion. I like all the beautiful cupolas that you show off and my favorite would normally be the horse, but, I love the third one down of the waterbird.

Incidentally, I think they may be made of copper as that was pretty common. But, it wouldn't be the first time I am wrong. ;)

Happy 4th of July!!!

Thanks for being the best Guide ever for #SteemUSA!

!tip

Sort:  

It’s a dying trade here in the Netherlands but so beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95