11th Week Of Self-Portrait Photo Contest - Results

in #photocircle5 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,

In this post I'm bringing you the results of the 11th week of the #self-portrait #photo #contest!

There were 3 entries in the 11th week but all of them were not accepted cause they were not #self-portraits!

So, in this post I'm gonna give you examples how #self-portrait should NOT look like:


1st entry was by @vibesforlife & you can see it here: https://steemit.com/self-portrait/@vibesforlife/a-self-portrait-for-those-good-vibes

2 weeks ago I gave her a high place cause she sent me a pretty high quality #self-portrait but than in the week after her entry was a bit worse & was more a #selfie but still I gave her a prize for her effort & sincerity - this decision of mine was pretty mild & I believe I went under my criteria. But from now on I'll be really strict!

This is not a #selfie contest & selfies are not acceptable & will be refused & disqualified!


2nd entry was by @qwerrie & it can be seen here: https://steemit.com/blog/@qwerrie/my-selfie-as-chinese

This entry was of the best quality but it is not a #self-portrait cause it was not made by the participant. It was shot by his wife. We had a nice correspondence & got to some very useful conclusions. At least, I've learnt some things & now I know how to present this contest in a better way to get better results!

All the new DSLR cameras & most of compact cameras too, & probably, all the phone cameras with apps but also some of the old film cameras have the "timer" option. There are also possibilities of mounting them on the tripod or phone stick but if you don't have those accessories you can always lean your camera / phone on some other object & turn it into an improvised tripod / stick!

Also, if you set up the camera & ask somebody else to press a shutter & present it as a #self-portrait, it will not be accepted in this contest, cause it is not a #self-portrait. The shot made this way is a portrait of you made by someone else & this someone else is the author of your portrait. Probably, some photographers wouldn't agree with me but it's their right not to agree. All the self-portraits I made of myself, I've done from the beginning to the end: From setting the scenery, adjusting the camera settings & pressing the shutter to processing the photo! & YOU CAN DO IT BY YOURSELF TOO!


3rd entry was sent by @angelro & you can see it here: https://steemit.com/photofeed/@angelro/11th-week-of-self-portrait-photo-contest-my-entry

In this post you can see that it's just a regular #selfie with a nice everyday life story of the author but it is not what this contest is looking for! We had a nice correspondence too in the comments where I shared a link on which the difference between #self-portrait & #selfie is very well explained & I'm re-posting it here again: https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-difference-between-a-selfie-and-a-self-portrait - if you consider participating in my contest, I advise you to read it.


The 12th #contest week will be published very soon!


For the end of this post, I'm showing you another #self-portrait of mine to guide you if you're planning to participate in this contest & to encourage you to send me your #self-portrait:

"The Labyrinth Of Inspiration"

IMG_3786_1.jpg

Description & Explanation:

This photo I made in the island Pag, Croatia while walking around the rockery. I carried all my photo equipment: #Canon EOS 60D, Canon 10-22 mm lens & a tripod (& probably some other parts). As I am a true labyrinth lover & I even constructed one by myself, when I found this one & immediately got an idea to make a #self-portrait with it. During that time I was writing too - I'm pretty creative person in general. So I connected my creative activity to the scenery I liked & set up the camera on the tripod & adjusted the parameters along with the 10 s timer. I focused the lens on the spot where I planned to sit, prepared the notebook & the pen, pressed the shutter & ran to the center of the labyrinth & stood still until I heard the shutter went off. I believe I made few shots like this until I was satisfied. I also processed the photo by myself!

Now you can see the difference between #selfie & #self-portrait & don't be discouraged, just invest some more effort into creating your #self-portrait!


Thanks for reading & applying, upvoting & resteeming & I hope to see more of your entries in the weeks to come!

Thanks!


#Smartseem service!

This Steem-based service offers you to buy / sell your votes in return for STEEM or SBD. You can also delegate your SP to them & be getting some STEEM back. It is also connected with the #Smartmarket #bot. Very useful!

& of course, their offering the referral link with the banner:


BANNER1.png


PhotoTalentBanner.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62