You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mobility Photochallenge/Saturdayphotochallenge

I've never been to the Philippines, @bluesapphire06, but I'm intrigued by the fact that the street signs and others are all in English. Is that typical of just Manila, or does this happen throughout the country? And is that because most people speak English there, or some other reason? I know the U.S. was involved for years there, so is this leftover from that?

Sorry about the questions, but I find all this very interesting. Also, I'm guessing a Grab car is some kind of ride share, like Uber?

Sort:  

Hello @glenalbrethsen, thank you for finding my country such interesting. You're right we've been colonized by Americans back in the history, that's the reason why it is also an English speaking country aside from our native tongue. Mostly or perhaps 80% of the signs all over the country are written in English.

And Grab is same as Uber, actually Grab owned the Uber just last year, but before they are two different companies.

I hope someday you get to visit the Philippines, and if there is a chance im willing to show you around. 😉😊

That's very nice of you. :) I don't know when it will happen, but my wife has a friend from the Philippines, so there's a better chance she'll end up visiting there before me. She almost went last year.

Thats good to know, i hope she had a wonderful vacation here. 😊
See you around. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69406.62
ETH 3942.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61