The pale ginger cats of SofiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photoa7 years ago

In Sofia, there is three types of common colours with the mostly stray cats you see, pale ginger tabby, black bicolour and standard european tabby.

Bulgarians love these kitties and there is no such thing as a pound or licence for pets.

This beautiful little chap I spotted not far from my home is the palest ginger I have ever seen. When I was in Sofia central prison, waiting for court, there was a similar but darker little female like this, but a lot darker. Standard dark ginger cats are usually male, but I saw also numerous others that were female.

image

He is owned by someone, as you can see by his collar, and happily approached me for a little pat and so I could photograph him to share.

image

image

image

What I found most interesting was the eye colour. Like his fur, the red melanin is very pale, and so his eyes almost look neutral grey, similar but opposite to how you use a faint touch of blue after bleach to get platinum blonde.

Sort:  

He is gorgeous!!!

Beautiful pictures. Very interesting cats.

Yeah, I really like these pale ginger cats. They are particularly friendly, similar to the black and white ones.

I hope I will be settled enough to keep some cats soon. I miss my little kitty: https://steemit.com/photos/@elfspice/my-former-pet-bastet-a-beautiful-loving-little-black-kitty

Wow ,,, I've never seen a cat like this ,,,, where you can this beautiful cat ,,, thank you

This is a very common variety of cat you can find strays all over Sofia most times of year. There is even a little female mother right now that lives near my block with at least two little babies, one is a pale ginger also, the other is tabby.

It looks like the cat saw me

@l0k1
Nice write-up
Great job
Keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16