Whoa, it's Spiderbro!

in #photo6 years ago (edited)

I used to be horrified by spiders.


I can say that I no longer scream like a little girl when one happens to use me as a perch.

Between visiting my family in South Carolina last year where spiders would literally repel down onto your face like some kind of terrified landing pad and then coming to Australia, I seem to have overcome the fear through immersion therapy.

IMG_20180330_111139.jpg

Today I made an adorable little friend!

I can now proudly say that I only scream when a huntsman takes me by surprise. And even then, it is just me crying out:

"OH, YOU SPIDERY BASTARD!"


I then grab my knees, hyperventilate for a moment, and lecture the spider on etiquette and how good spiders do not stand over the toilet. It makes it hard to use the restroom while staring into hundreds of eyes filled with judgement. Also, when you've just wet your pants.

But I digress. Today I found myself playing with a tiny jumping spider that had decided to climb all over my arms and legs! I booped his tiny little face and then watched him clean my human filth off.

It was pretty adorable.

IMG_20180330_111251.jpg

Everything the light touches is your kingdom...

When it lept onto my nose I didn't flail and fall off the rock I was sitting on like I normally would.

I would call this progress.

IMG_20180330_110544[1].jpg

"Don't mind me. Just transversing your arm hairs. Doin' spider thangs."

IMG_20180330_110654[1].jpg

Inspecting target.

IMG_20180330_110753[1].jpg

annnnnnnnnd right before he launched onto my face. He got a running start.

I have to admit, I have gained a lot of respect for spiders since being in a place full of ones that can kill you. Or necropsy bits of you. Or just rip a hunk out.

I have learned that there are spider FRIENDS and spiders that need to be nuked from orbit (aka killed on sight).

Have a handy chart that I made!

NOPEMAYBE.png

Carry it with you everywhere. It will come in handy!




stitchhead.png

Gif credit to giphy!

Sort:  

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @sammosk.

Allllllll the nopes belong to spiders. Huntsmen are flipping huge and I might have a heart attack if I saw one on the toilet

Nice post you, i see, enjoy and i like, thank you for sharing.

Am a proud screamer. Spiders scare the shit out of me

Aww you got a little Lucas the spider exploring your weird giant human body. I grew up being taught to appreciate huntsmans but this eme always makes me laugh. Posting for your enjoyment.
1683eb418e62b4d900087c551d18f7f8.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56