The Scenic Route--ZhangJiaJie (Avatar Mountains)

in #photo6 years ago

I had the opportunity recently to take a trip with some friends to Zhangjiajie National Forest Park, a uniquely stunning mountain range located in the Chinese province of Hunan. These mountains, while enjoying notoriety previously, exploded in popularity with the release of Avatar, in 2009. The Hallelujah Mountains in the film are inspired by the mountains present in this park.

These mountains are beautiful during all seasons, especially fall. While there, there was some pretty heavy mist in the park, giving it an eerie feel, while simultaneously decreasing visibility. I had to keep my eyes open for rare opportunities when the mist parted to reveal more of the surrounding mountains from the trail.

I recently purchased the Fujinon 16mm (24mm equivalent) F1.4 lens and was excited to take it for a spin in this amazing location. Some of the images are edited in Lightroom. While I am still learning how to take full advantage of the software, feel free to ask about certain effects if you are curious how I achieved them. Happy to share what knowledge I have :)

I'll let the pictures do most of the talking, as its difficult to express in words how these mountains look and make you feel. Hope you Enjoy!!! Don't forget to upvote or follow if you enjoy the content :D

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-9.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-6.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-15.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-16.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-35.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-36.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-38.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-39.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-40.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-48.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-52.jpg

ZhangJiaJie-aaayyyyeeee-54.jpg

Sort:  

These photos looks awesome! I never knew that there were very real mountains like those in the avatar movie.
That photograph of the steps - real scary on a different level!

There are many places like this in China. It is loaded with mystery and awe!

thank you. These are beautiful pictures. He made me very happy.

Thank you so much! I'm really happy you enjoyed them :)

Dude, awesome photography skills! Wish I was as good as you. Those pictures are amazing.

Thanks! Im still learning and figured putting my work out there would encourage me to push myself and grow.

I am new in photography using fujifilm x-a10 pls make a blog about settings like bokeh shots.

That sounds like a great idea! I remember having a ton of confusion about that as I started out with my first camera (especially since it was a crop sensor) I'll make sure to include a section about that in one of my next few posts

Thank you @shutter-bug its a big help for us whose starting in photography😇😇 i will keep on eye on that😉

Wow what an interestingly wide range of awesome photos in this post! Landscape to architecture to food to macro nature photography! I got a great feel for the area, some of these shots are so moody. Love it.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the current Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Thank you so much carlgnash! Im glad you enjoyed them. I would love to be included in your upcoming Author Showcase. I have sent you a request on discord. Feel free to quote the text or use images :)

Thank you for your kind words carlgnash! I cant tell you how much I appreciate it. People like you keep me motivated. Cheers!

Leave a comment in reply to the showcase post and I will vote it up to the top for more visibility :) Our pleasure to feature you, great post!

The mountains were very nice

Please give me a comment and share your thoughts! I read every single comment and really appreciate any of them!

To give back to the community, I will upvote the 3 post I like most (after ~48 hours) with 20% voting power :-) That's essentially 0.15 ~ 0.2 SBD.
thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73