Rhoda Goes To The Library

in #photo7 years ago (edited)

I have a bookworm that loves to read, and we had some books to return, so I loaded up Rhoda and took her out for her first trip to the library.

Photo Credit

The Rochester Hills Public Library is massive, and has everything from newspapers to video games. We decided to check out what they had on sculpting. I am having issues with making the armatures properly, and rather than give up on the project, I thought I could find something to help on the shelves.

Rhoda checks out the sculpture at the library entrance


We found a couple of books on the computer to look at, so we made our way to 422. in the Adult Non-Fiction section. While I combed the shelves for the books, Rhoda made herself comfortable on the shelves with some other crafting books. She especially liked the Halloween book.
Rhoda finds a book to love
Almost a whole year until next Halloween, Rhoda


Rhoda was having a wonderful time until.....
Rhoda thinks the Crochet Taxidermy book is the stuff nightmares are made of.

Thankfully I found the books I was looking for rather quickly, and I was able to get Rhoda to the safety of a table. While I flipped through the Creating Characters From Clay find, she kept going on about the horror that she saw. Not even Calvin and Hobbes could distract her.
Being a bit dramatic aren't we, Rhoda?

I figured since she was being a drama queen, I would introduce her to one of the best playwrights to ever walk the earth - Shakespeare. She seemed to dig it. We are looking into getting her in to the local theater company.
To act, or not to act. Is that not always the question?

After finishing Hamlet, Rhoda really wanted to visit the Youth wing downstairs to see the Lego exhibit and find some Aardman videos. She really loves Shaun the Sheep and Wallace & Gromit.
Pretty please. Can we go downstairs now?

She wins. She always wins.

Rhoda and I really enjoyed our afternoon out at the library. Thanks to Shakespeare and Legos, she was quickly over the Crochet Taxidermy. I found one book, and several Shaun The Sheep videos. YAY, Aardman! We are now settling down and getting ready to watch Shaun The Sheep: The Farmer's Llamas. Hope you all had a wonderful day too!


Thanks for stopping by to check out my work!
x x
Mo

All photos taken by myself with exception to the one credited.
Rhoda was hand-built by myself using plasticine and sculpting wire.
Practice makes perfect. I figure I will get better with time. Thanks for sharing the journey with me!
@tattoodjay, I really wanted to use this as an entry for the Bahbahra contest, but wasn't sure that the books would qualify as friends! Hope you like Rhoda's trip out anyway!

Sort:  

This would be a wonderful idea for a children's book! Rhoda Goes To The Library. It is a winner! Very original.


As soon as I can make a better Rhoda :D <3

I think Rhoda is fine just the way she is.

the absolute best thing you can do for a kid (academically speaking) is to teach them then encourage them to read. Reading changes the brain and makes them more intelligent.
You might check into project gutenberg 54,000 free ebooks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @molovelly to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43