Morning low tide fishing, Rockfish catch and cook Kelp Greenling (more photos and video link)

in #photo6 years ago (edited)

The low tide is -0.3' at 7:11am, rising to a high of +5.0' at 1:45pm
I woke up at 5:30am! I ran out the door and down the highway chasing the morning bite! It was a pretty active morning, with numerous nibbles and some fun catches. I brought my GX2 9' medium rod and the beef stick 10' medium heavy rod. Both equipped with a Penn fierce 2 4000 reel, 50lbs braid and some new 30lbs mono. I leave the GX2 out as a dead stick with a high low rig. I start with throwing some swim baits. After getting broken off a few times I get lucky, and land a small Lingcod measuring in at 19". Minutes after releasing the Lingcod, my dead stick gets slammed! I reel in to find a beautiful Kelp Greenling. It's the first keeper coming in 1.25" over the legal size limit of 12". Casting out a few more times, and having a small fish get off the line, I'm able to land a Black Rockfish. To small for me to want to keep. I release the fish back. Soon after I get some more nibbles on the line, but can't get the fished hooked. It has to be a perch! Dipping my camera into the water I was able to confirm my suspicions! With the tide nearing the peak high and the wind increasing I decide to return home to cook my catch. I cook up a delicious fried Kelp Greenling with mushrooms, carrots, and red bell peppers resting on a bed of buttered white rice. Mmmmmmm Kelp Greenling stir fry. It was delicious!

kelp greenling thumb nail.jpg

underwater perch.jpg

lingcod 2.jpg

black rockfish.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34