I quit my job and headed to the land down unda!

in #photo6 years ago (edited)

It's okay to stop and smell the roses....

I quit my job in November. I've always had a job since turning 16 years old. I remember spending my 16th birthday driving through town with another friend (who celebrated her birthday earlier) to apply for jobs. I quit high school sports because I wanted to work more. Before that, I would side-hustle and ask to detail my parents' cars for money, do the laundry, mow the lawn - anything to make some coin. Since 16, I had been working.....but for what?! What's the purpose? What's my purpose? I guess one can say, I am still searching.

I chose to not have a job because I think it's about time to smell the flowers and relax for a bit. Yes, it was a scary decision I made but I was ready for the unknown. The unknown and the uncertainty is what makes life's precious moments. The unknown is what inspires us.

My sabbatical started in November in The Land Down Unda. This was my first time ever in Australia and I didn't know what to expect. I was excited for the journey. Upon landing, we directly took the drive down to the Great Ocean Road. Let me tell ya, I have never seen miles and miles of never ending shore! It was so pristine and untouched, I couldn't believe it.

Aus Thumbnail A.jpg

Aus3.JPG

Aus4.JPG

Apollo Bay sunrise then a rainbow. I was jet lagged and took a stroll into town. I heard the waves calling and immediately ran towards it. Sometimes jet lags can be a positive thing!

In between Apollo Bay to Lorne, there's a cute little Koala cafe where one can pet koalas, parakeets, and parrots. The birds are so friendly, several of them land on your shoulders and arms. This was my favorite part!

Parrot.JPG

I spent a month in Australia and spent it like a tourist (1) Brighton Beach to see the bath houses. En route there, we also fed the Wallaby's at the Moonlit Sanctuary (2) Went up Eureka Tower in Melbourne (3) Saw the 12 Apostles (4) Sydney Opera House (5) Enjoy the beaches

Aus 11.JPG

Aus 12.jpg

Aus 9.jpg

My favorite tourist-y thing I did in Oz was visit Tasmania (or Tazzie as the locals call it). If you visit Oz, perhaps spend around 3 days in Tasmania and do everything you can from MONA, wineries, surf, and enjoy the food and scenery by the wharf. The best activity from the trip was Mount Wellington Descent. There is a tour where they take you up the mountain in a van and they have the bikes ready for you once you get up there. Let me tell you, going down was one of the best feelings ever. It almost felt like a metaphor for the situation I was in --- the hill represented the unknowns of life. There was really no way I could control it, the only thing I could do was embrace it, let go of inhibitions, and simply enjoy the ride.

Aus 8.JPG

Mount Wellington is about 1,200m in elevation.

Aus 14.jpg

I was sad to leave Australia; it felt like there is so much to do that one month isn't enough time to explore. Five days before I left, I was once again embraced by such breath-taking, warm, Australian sunrise.

Top 3 things I loved about Australia: (1) how restaurants cook their mushrooms! (2) no judgment on who you are, what you do -- people are genuinely interested in you (3) nature is well kept - I don't think I will ever see beaches or animals like what I've seen in Australia compared to any parts of the world.

Next stop: Brazil!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @j0ramos! it sounds like you might be writing a bunch of travel posts. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see them pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. Then your post will be on the map! There’s also a FAQ section if you need it.

Awesome sauce! I just went ahead and did it. Thanks for the tip @choogirl. Can't wait to explore other travel posts!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=j0ramos
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-land-down-unda


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Awesome, thanks for the tip! I really appreciate it

Hi! welcome to steemit! I hope you will have fun here as we do!
We will be following you for (we hope) your travel post, this one is amazing.
See you next time!
Les Pitchous

Hey there! thanks for the kind words. And yes, I will be posting about my travels (and tribulations). I didn't realize that packing up my entire life and moving would prove to be difficult. Should be a fun and interesting read!! Thanks for reading my post :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67