steepshot: Today is world turtle day

in #photo6 years ago (edited)

a884f500-f232-4796-b40c-f17209ae3862.jpeg


May 23th is world turtle day. I took this photo in a pond nearby some days ago. I think it must be one of those little ones that they sell in pet stores that had been abandoned here and it is growing here since then. I wonder how old is it. At least it has more space than in a small acuarium in a room. It makes me sad that someone abandoned it here. But I want to think it was an act of love. Better than the toilet. It is lucky.
Other turtles end up alive inside a minuscule plastic bag as a key chain. you can search for it. It is disgusting. That makes me mad and scream what kind of degenerate mind can conceive that.
Happy world turtle day. Peace.

(trying steepshot for the first time :)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Hooray for turtles! Great picture of that turtle in the pond. It's really sad how they end up in key chains and how we're choking their world with so much plastic, it truly is despicable but on a positive front my hometown does turtle walks where they collect eggs to ensure they hatch and then guide the hatchlings safely back to sea.

Thank you for your comment @soulturtle. What an appropriate name hehe ;)
It makes me happy that it is not all key chains and there are good people in the world too :) I wasn't good mentioning just the negative things, while there are other positive fronts. Thank you!

Awww that is sweet
Turtle guardians !

Hector!!! So great to see you guyz here on Steem! I've been trying to get so many of our talented friends up and rocking.. it takes awhile! Randomly, saw Priscilla on Dsound this morning.. I'm having problems on that platform with playback.... anyhoo, happy turtles, happy day to you!

Hello Kimmy! It is normal that people are a bit reluctant to enter in this network at first. It is not like any other network. So I understand. We will see where all this experiment goes hehe
It's nice to see you here! :) How is life going?
Yes, Dsound have problems sometimes. It is all in the early developments. Things will improve.
Happy day to you too !

Look at that turtle just chillin and floating in bliss <3
....and then I read that they're being made into live keychains.
!!!!!
=O

Thank you @somethingrandom for commenting :) Yes that's horrible... Now I'm sorry to have mentioned that. The keychains must be a minor thing. Let's keep it positive. Look @sourturtle has commented that they help turtles to go back to the sea. :)

Hahaha light and darkness, yin and yang, positive and negative, you can't have one without the other. For every bad thing we hear about, there will be an equal number of good things =)

Live keychains?? That is horrible! I hope those awful people rot in hell.

Yes, it is super sad, I cried first time I knew. But well better in a huge pond than in an unloved home for sure.

I just found out too =(

I LOVE that you are posting, and this beautiful turtle picture. It makes me happy to see it wild and free, and hopefully it will find a family soon, or maybe it already has one and had just gone for a swim for the day. ♥

The challenge was to make a small post. So I thought steepshot could help me with that :)
I'll visit this turtle from time to time. I think she is happy there :)

Steepshot can definitely help! Easy as pie! Yay!

I came here because my Gina said turtles. (That is how I roll)

I see.... A turtle, yes.... Gina was correct.

Gives Gina candy

:D ha ha ... steals gina's candy

The word is spreading about World Turtle Day! :D

What a gorgeous pattern on that shell!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34