The Animals Bridge: Designed for animals to cross safely

in #photo7 years ago


This is the Animal's Bridge, on the Salish-Kooteni reservation in Montana. I love passing through here because for all the crappy things humans get up to, building a bridge for animals to safely cross the highway is pretty genius and cool. Along the highway for quite a ways are big fences, to encourage the animals to walk in that direction in order to cross. The sign you see is written in both Salish and English, which I also love about this place. I think it is important to acknowledge the language of the land, plus it is very nice to be surrounded by it, even if I can't understand or speak it. I would like to learn , though, and its one of my goals for 2018 , to start learning even some basic words of the indigenous languages of my area.


144.png
Created with Steepshot
View in the web app

4.png

Sort:  

How nice, a bridge exclusively for animals. Hope this helps reduce road accidents, it's a great idea more places should consider. Beautiful looking area too!

I've heard about animal bridges before, but I've never seen one. It's pretty cool that they built this.

its a really hopeful feeling , right there. I think because I just want humans to think about how to be more cooperative with nature and the planet, and for indigenous people to be valued and respected by society as a whole. For me when I pass through there its like a tiny slice of possibility and creativity.

Yeah I feel like this was an idea they were batting around for wolves here in Oregon and Washington but I'm not sure it ever got built and if it did I haven't seen it. Would love to see in person!

Theres a web cam up there too i think... If you google around there are photos of animals crossing. I wish these were all over the highways.

That's adorable - and pretty damn huge! At first it reminded me of the Storrow Drive bridge in Boston, which every year wipes out at least one moving van who didn't drive in the center lane. But then I zoomed in and saw the scale - wow!

Edit: Huh, I remembered it as a dome-shaped bridge. I guess that shows you how reliable memory can be.

Woahhh what!! Those are some rough bridge situations, lol! Yeah this one is pretty big with plenty of clearance thank goodness!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dflo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I give you an UPVOTE. it just worth 2 cents but it comes from my heart! follow me like I do follow you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.52
ETH 2532.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52