Going Solar!

in #photo6 years ago

So I have been working on some Christmas gifts, and I made this solar chandelier from a solar Edison bulb, and dog leash chain and a stripped vintage lampshade that I spray-painted black. It was originally destined for my mother-in-law, but I really love it now, so it may not be leaving...

solar bulb chandelier.jpg

Sort:  

Offering solar gift for Christmas is a nice idea !

I realise I could look it up... but I've never heard of a solar lightbulb before... have you tried them before? I might be super keen to invest if you're happy with these little miracles of light.

Ya know, they are actually pretty cool. They have a little solar panel on the top, and they aren't super bright at night, but bright enough, and if I don't have to pay for the electricity...well then it's a winner winner chicken dinner for me! These are actually pretty expensive, but I happened upon some at our dollar store and was like heck yeah! So I got the lampshade for a dollar at a thrift store, I stripped it of its nasty old material, and then took a third of a dollar store dog leash and attached it to the bulb. So for like $2.33 I have a sustainable patio light!

OMG! You are a magician of thrift!
Nice score young lady! Our power bill went from $30ish dollars in our apartment to $180 on our farm... so looking into every possible way to cut that down and be more sustainable. Thanks so much!

Ооооо, ты сама сделала? Класс

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94