Back to the future part 41 - My travels - Vietnamese Amputee

in #photo6 years ago

A look back through my travel photos from before Steemit

20181015_074510.jpg

This one is actually a photo of a photo of a photo!

The photo was captured by a Vietnamese photographer who I cannot credit as I don't have their details unfortunately. It was hanging in the military museum in Hanoi, Vietnam. I took a photo off the photo and today I've taken a photo of my photo of the photo!

It's a powerful image, I'm sure you'll agree. A reminder that nothing is impossible if we set our mind to it. It is also a reminder of man's inhumanity to his fellow man, which continues today in many guises.

This particular inhumanity is the dreaded gift that keeps giving. Even though the Vietnam war ended in 1975, over 40 years later, many parts of Vietnam are still strewn with unexploded land mines which kill, main and mutilate innocent people every day.

It is estimated that around 3 million land mines remain buried around the countryside of Vietnam. Since 1975, some 40,000 Vietnamese people have lost their lives as a result and countless others like the boy in this photo have lost limbs.

For me war is never ever the answer. Put down the guns, look at each others eyes and have respect for your fellow man. The pen is always mightier than the sword.


I traveled around South East Asia and Australia back in 2007/2008 with my then girlfriend/now wife.

It was a trip of a lifetime and I loved every minute of it.

I am going to upload a photo every day.

I'll upload another one tomorrow.

Peace Out

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

@ablaze Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79