4th of July fireworks 2017| I almost missed out.

in #photgraphy7 years ago (edited)

4th of July is is a perfect day to gorge on food that you know you shouldn’t eat, fall into a food induced coma, and pass the time with some fire works :)

Never mind the real reason 4th of July is celebrated.....

Anyway, I thought this day would be a good opportunity to practice my photography (any chance I can get). The town I live in tries to provide a fireworks show every new years eve, and July 4th, and I have a perfect view of the show from the roof top of my house.
I had the intention to take photos during the second half of the fireworks show, but the loud noise, bright lights, and car alarms going off were enough to throw off my focus and make me completely forget about grabbing my camera.

So then there was the finale and of course that’s when I remembered to get my camera. I jumped off my roof and ran as fast as I could. I didn’t make it back I time to take pictures of the finale, but due to a timing or management issue, a series of fireworks set off afterwords (roughly 1 min after the grand finale) and gave me an opportunity to take a few good pics.

So here you go:

DSC09783.JPG

Over 670 million dollars spent on fireworks this year in the U.S. for 4th of July!

DSC09782.JPG

Its one of those days of the year where all you smell outside is a strong aroma of alcohol....with exhausting laughs and terrible music to compliment that :)

DSC09781.JPG
This was actually a last minute shot. My camera was having a hard time focusing :)

DSC09785.JPG
Simple, but for some reason one of my favourite shots.

DSC09784.JPG
Another problem with the focus, but it turned out OK.

DSC09778.JPG

The fireworks were set off about a mile away from my location.
I used a 210 mm Sony lens for a Sony NEX-5R......in case you are wondering

Sort:  

You got some great pics, i want to try this myself, any tips?

Thanks!
I recommend setting the ISO between 800 and 3200 for shots like this. I would say to look at your shutter speed settings, and keep it around at least 1/100. So this means that I have exposure for 1/100th of a second. The higher shutter speed means less light can get in...which is not good for night time shots, but since the fireworks are so bright it wasn’t a problem.

Also high shutter speed means less blurriness for shots that involve fast moving objects (like fireworks).

Hope this helps.

Yes I do a lot of photography myself, just usually not at night, thanks for the tips!

hmmph,

i didn't expect to like shots of fireworks so much. pretty cool.

Nice job!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51