You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SOFT, GRAINY AND RAW

in #phot7 years ago (edited)

I hear ya on the great ideas coming at the wrong time. I have been pushing myself late hours with a lot of the drawing/art contest stuff here on steemit. During the day it's "work" and nothing comes to me, then just before bedtime the ideas roll in and I know if I don't start on at least getting the rough ideas down I will lose them by morning. Many times I just power through and suffer the no sleep hangover the next day. :-)

Also, If you have a single bulb lamp you can put next to you or behind you , then shorten the shutter time, it will give a cool dramatic effect. You did good.

Sort:  

Yeah, it can become a dangerous cycle. Never getting enough sleep and keeping your mind active late into the night. I do it all the time though.
Someone once told me that the subconscious owns creativity, thus, in order for us to develop new ideas, we need to be able to shut off​​ the ego and working parts of our mind. For a lot of us that doesn't happen until we lay down to sleep.
I'm not sure if I agree with that or not. But it's​ a good thought.

I'm paraphrasing here, but maybe this quote will offer you some insight
While we are asleep or pleasantly occupied, our subconscious works best.

Personal experience tells us this is easier said than done (especially for artists). At any rate, I admire your confidence! Take care.

Thank you for the quote. Do you know who the original author for it is?

And thank you for the admiration. It is always easier to let your confidence shine through the media​. But I'm a firm​ advocate​ for self-love​ and allowing uniqueness to flourish​, so it is something I work on.

I am 99% sure I read it in this 1962 book by Ben Sweetland:

The world could benefit from more self-love advocates such as yourself to encourage the rest of the population. Right on!

Oh awesome! I love a good read, I will have to check it out! Thank you for sharing.
I'd I agree 100%.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66