Phishing, Phreedom and Prayer Part 1 "Phishing"

in #phishing7 years ago (edited)




[ Pocket Fisherman ]

Phishing! (part 1)



Hey Honey, Want To Go Phishing?


It started out as a normal Saturday when my wife @lildebbiecakes said to me, "Hey, look a grumpy cat commented on my post, but this comment looks weird and the cat wants me to click on a post to defend myself. What's that all about?"


Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 3.23.44 PM.png


Upset Kitty?

My first thought was that since I had used a couple of upvote bots on her post that the "Real" Grumpy Cat(GC) was upset and she was going to be downvoted into oblivion; so I checked out her iPad and realized it wasn't GC, but it didn't look right so I went ahead and clicked on the defend yourself link(I know I shouldn't have but, what is it they say about cats and curiosity?) Well right after I clicked through the Steemit Login page popped up, and​ at least I knew that she was already logged in so it shouldn't have been asking for her password, but one thing I noticed was that the browser bar had Steewit instead of Steemit. Hmm.., sure looks like Steemit, maybe someone was developing a new and improved add-on? I closed out of the Steewit website(I wasn't logged onto it) and told my wife to make sure she checks with me before she does anything that "doesn't look right", and explained to her that this was probably someone that was looking to scam/phish innocent Steemians. Potential catastrophe diverted, phew!

Enter Enjoy With Troy!


So, about 15 minutes later I get a phone call from a real close local friend. My wife and I had just gone out with him and his wife about 2 weeks ago and during our dinner conversation, he told me that he had a friend that he grew up with and he was really active in Steemit. Great I told him what is his username and I'll be sure to contact him and give him a follow. Out here in the cornfields of Iowa there aren't a whole lot of Steem Meet-ups so I was excited to get someone fairly close by to follow. Well, ​I forgot to enter his name in and forgot his handle, but I knew I'd see my friend soon and I could ask again. Well, there was no need to as the call was about his Steemian friend Troy, username @enjoywithtroy and it seems as though he had been hacked and my friend wanted me to talk to him and see if I could help him out. I told my friend I'd be glad to help, but I wasn't sure I'd be able to do much for him. He gave me his number and I waited to get his call. I suspected that he may have been hit with the same thing so now that I had his username I went to check his wallet and saw this:


enjoywithtroy Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 12.57.59 AM.png


Phreedom.jpg

Since this post is getting longer than I would like I have decided to break it into 3 parts so follow through if you'd like to find out what happens next. I will probably make a master post that has it all for those that might have the time to read it as a whole.

[ Phreedom! Phishing, Phreedom and Prayer Part 2 ]



Please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following or Resteeming @sighmanjestah

Steemit,

do it for the love,
the reward will follow,
it just might not be financial.

Matthew 6:21
For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.



SDG

SDGvia(http://www.music.qub.ac.uk/~tomita/)



Sort:  

Thank you for spreading the truth and writing your story. Together we may help others and prevent potential scamming on this platform. blessings - Troy

Great post dear @sighmanjestah! Amazing article and I pray to God that this post will go viral so that you may help so many to learn to be cautious about their “ OWNER KEY 🔑” and “ NOT” allowing anybody to have access to it. I might just post a giant red alert 🚨 sign and help my followers out! And perhaps they’ll do the same with their followers and on, and on, ... spreading the love ❤️ ! Thank you @signmanjestah for your compassion and caring for others! May God Bless you abundantly on your upcoming posts about this situation, and I pray that this won’t happen again to anyone else, and that @enjoywithtroy receives his losses back! If it’s in your heart let’s help one another and pass it on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75