I've just been a victim of myetherwallet phishing. Read the story so you don't fall for the same.

in #phishing7 years ago (edited)

I've never been phished before, and I've never been hacked before. I've always thought I'm very tech savvy and careful when it comes to security and things like that. My friends joke that I'm obsessively careful, but I've gotten my wallet stolen a few minutes ago...

Here's how it happened, please be careful and don't let it happen to you too:

I've been receiving emails from slack channels just like everyone, and one of those comes from "iotatangle.slack.com" which is indeed a channel on slack I've (wrongfully) thought was part of IOTA.

The email I've gotten says they're thanking us for being contributors, they're sending 5,000 mIOTA. Asking us to check myetherwallet. Silly me (perhaps slightly sleep deprived) clicked on it, and gladly shared my UTC file and password.

I noticed nothing happened, looked up at the URL and saw it's not the right address... I Immediately created a new wallet, went to the real myetherwallet to transfer to the new uncompromised wallet, tried to login, success, balance is already 0. That's within a single minute, these guys aren't manually collecting passwords and using them, but initiating transfers straight away.
Here's their wallet address, https://etherscan.io/address/0xed2d26eed06ecfbfd796d1ec551d2a649a31e576 they've stolen 7.2 ETH as of this article.

Be very careful when receiving mails from even people you trust. I've lost my 1.5ETH, don't lose yours...!!

This is the email I've gotten:
Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 10.36.35 AM.png

This is the slack channel chat:
Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 10.15.32 AM.png

Here's the address that the link goes to, it's a photo so you don't inadvertently click:
Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 10.16.26 AM.png

Sort:  

Thanks for it! we should be more careful!

Thanks for the info!

Congratulations @jozzn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36