You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WARNING: Phishing is Back!

in #phishing4 years ago

If you log into steemitwallet.com you can get your private keys.

Your master key (or password) provides access to all the below

Your posting private key lets you post transactions to the blockchain.
Your active private key lets you transact - power up, send steem, etc
Your owner private key lets you change your recovery account.
Your memo private key lets you read encrypted memos (transfers sent with a prefix of a pound symbol (#)

Hope that helps

Think of this as having different locks to different sections of your house.

Sort:  

No. I've tried many times for years. I've been having this problem for many years now. I used to write articles about this. Based on what I've seen since like 2017, I have not had access to my private master key. I believe I never got it in the first place. I am not new to Steemit. I have made three other accounts and I obtain master keys to two of them and do not have master keys to the ones I made via Steemit as they keep the master keys. My recovery account is @steem.

I'm not sure I understand, when I signed up my account ~3 or so years ago, I did so via steemit.com, and I remember painstakingly writing down all my keys by hand, including my masterkey (password)

I've changed them a few times since though!

Yeah. You might be right. So, it is possible that I lost mine if that is true. In 2019, I created another account via Steemit and did not get a master key. But when I created 2 other accounts via another website, I did get the random twelve words or passphrase similar to what you get for Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. So, I saved those master passphrases for those two accounts.

Are you talking about just a password or a passphrase as in twelve random words?

Password. Mine is not a key phrase.

When I created 2 Steem accounts, I got key phrases. It is the same as Bitcoin. And then there is the master password which should be one level under the passphrase.

@holoz0r bit green here but in account recovery what are you changing @steem from to what? what are we changing to exactly? I have all keys safe yes

I don't think @steem needs to be changed.

Well didn't you lose your owner key? I'm wanting to remove my account recovery from steemit because I think that doesn't exist hence the keys but I heard it's possible to do account recovery elsewhere such as splinterlands for example

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85