You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Freedom of Speech?

in #philosphy6 years ago

I honestly don't really feel like freedom of speech is restricted anymore than it has been in the past. Mainly because "Freedom of Speech" is simply associated with your rights as an American and has nothing at all to do with being an employee. You can literally say whatever you want and pretty much be free of repercussions from the law. That hasn't really changed one bit. Now in the work place things are obviously different simply because someone is paying you money to a) do your job, and b) behave within the limits of their company policy. Most of the time, the company policies simply serves the purpose to meet 2 goals. 1) keep the work environment comfortable for all(basically dont be an ass). That doesn't really cause too much of a fuss....excluding people who can't resist the urge to say outright inappropriate things. And 2) Protect the company image. This is what causes the most fuss. But even still a company has the right to strive for a certain image. People can disagree with what that image should be all day, but it doesn't really matter if it's not your company. If you want to decide what the company image should be, then build your own. It's also not like our career paths are chosen for us. so if you choose to pursue a career where your actions in your personal life can affect your career, that's something you chose to give up for whatever length of time, for that job. I mean you literally sign papers saying you agree to do so. The thing that sucks tho is that the image the company strides to attain can be a bit dynamic. It can/does change because we as people and a society change. There are multiple parts of the constitution other than freedom of speech, which does not apply to various careers/workplaces we choose to work. Please keep in mind though the above is just my thoughts on the freedom of speech topic. My own personal opinions as to weather certain things are right or wrong differ for each situation but does not apply to the topic of freedom of speech.

Sort:  

Right well that's pretty much what I said in the video. People sign away their rights when they get a job. I think this is pretty standard at all workplaces now.

What I meant by having less rights is that we participate in things more where we give up rights. Like the different places online that we interact on. When we sign up we agree to censorship.

I don't disagree with companies requiring certain standards of their employees, though I do think the intrusive nature of some companies has gotten a bit out of hand...asking for credit reports, snooping into your Facebook. Some companies require your password to your email account. Like, wtf? And the sad part is that while we sort of get to choose our jobs (or at least from the pool of those available) we need jobs to survive, so we kind of have to give those things up.

I mean, as a whole, behaving like a decent human being isn't such a terrible thing, but it can get a little ridiculous. I have never been able to really be myself for a long time, and not just at work, but on Facebook, as I have felt compelled to accept friend requests from people I work with.

That's why I love it here so much. I don't have to sugar coat, or pretend. I can just be myself. In that way, I am happy that none of my friends or acquaintances are here!

100%. I am old fashioned with some twists of my own. The world I live in today as opposed to the one I grew up in is cooked. Yes things change, but are they suppose to change for the worst and it has, rapes are up, murders are up, violent robberies are up & now people can steal from you by hacking your pc's and phones and someone always pipes up and gives me the spiel about there is nothing you can do about it or you can't say this or you can't mention that, but the largest part of the problem is that we have become cowards that choose to hide everytime someone sets a rule that we didn't agree to and that curbs us from having our own rights. I thought we are all human beings and all have rights so how come some idiots think it's okay for them to dish out more rights to one than the other? How come one can say what they want and another must bite their tongue.

You own the business, sure you make the rules, but those rules cannot include being intrusive and dicative to my personal life unless I am a violent career offender. I'm won't publically bring my place of work under the spotlight, but I'll be buggered if I'll my civilized freedom watered down and or tampered with by anyone without them getting taught the meaning of consequence.

As for sports stars, politicians and religious leaders, if you're going to be unpatriotic to a country from which you benefit then you should be asked to pack up and leave.

Don't say anything about the left, if they don't want things to said about them why don't they watch what they say about everyone else. It makes you a dictator when you runaround calling other's dictators. I'm done with political correctness, it's a mental illness and has been allowed for too long. Respect is the only thing that cures divides and when respect is thrown out the window then there will be consequence.

I let people think what they will and say whatever they want, it's cool, but when people try and enforce their way of reasoning or belief systems on me, oh dear, then bad things happen.

?

Haha yes!

It bothers me how much people hate on a country that has been good to them because they "have that right". What's more though is that the kneeling is just a show. What is it really changing?

12 people were murdered in Chicago over memorial day weekend. None of which were at the hand of a cop. Where is the outrage? Where are the marches? If there isn't a political agenda behind it, we will never hear about it in the mainstream. It's not as juicy when you can't throw race baiting into it. "Blacks killing blacks daily" just doesn't sell as well as "a couple of times a year, a white cop kills a black person in an altercation".

The majority of black murders are at the hands of other black people, but you would never know from the way the NFL players talk about it. You'd think that every day white cops were hunting and killing black people. And that's why they are kneeling? Give me a break!

Things have gotten completely crazy. I can hardly keep up.

Exactly what I'm talking about. I task people based on their behaviour. Ccolor, race, culture or religion has nothing to do with how I see some people. Their behaviour sells the negative about them. Try being a white man/ woman in South Africa where the government has not been able to do anything in 24 years, but rob the country dry and have to keep on putting all the prices up to get more money to steal and when the hand full of whites and Indians started making a noise about it the president and some other politicians started singing raley songs of killing whites. What happened, the rate of brutal butchering of whites in South Africa started spiking and is escalating at an alarming rate. Apparently even people that were too young to have voted for the previous government is to blame for the lack of progress in the last 24 years.

Here to black people kill each other very violently and not a word, shoot one out of 8 armed men who enter your home intending on raping your wife while you watch, boiling your children alive and then chopping you up with a machete and all hell breaks loose.

Now these are the things that brought me to where I am today. Liberalism, leftism, rightism and and and out! Political correctness and the race card, out! Silencing and favouring one above the other, out!

Treat me the way you want to be treated, respect me my culture my religion and my values to the extent you wish me to do for you. Not prepared to, fuck off or deal with the consequences.

Oh and by the way, for those who fuck up their own countries and then go ask someone else for help and when they let you in you expect them to change their way of life to suit you while you demand they work their asses off so you can have free stuff, you are a parasite. Nothing is free, someone is paying and if it is not you then you are a problem and should be sent back to where you came from till you can learn what civilized and productive progress is all about.

?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50