You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Independence: Why it matters (it doesn't)

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

I think that either you misunderstand my writing, I have written it in a way that carries a vastly different meaning than I intended or else I misunderstand your comment. Allow me to attempt to clarify: I most certainly believe in the notion of the American Dream for those less fortunate and willing to work hard, I was just making commentary that much more can be achieved by working together than working by oneself, using the current state of (Trump's) America as an example of those attempting to go at it alone. The reason I put it in quotes in the first usage is because I feel that it has become synonymous with the pursuit of excess wealth rather than the pursuit of opportunity, justice and happiness. I decisively believe that independence (not to be confused with freedom) is not all it is cracked up to be, which may sound anti-American, but I strongly feel that teamwork and collaboration are strong forces and ideals that Americans should cling onto (by choice, of course.) I have edited my write up to attempt to make that more clear.

If, after this, you still disagree with me (which, by the way, is reasonable, it just means I misunderstood your comment) I would love to continue debate, either here in the comments or in the steemit.chat. I think you'll find me to be open minded and open to changing my opinions in the face of new perspective. Thank you for your time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34