You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Not Entertained? Physical vs. Intellectual Conflict

in #philosophy7 years ago

I don't think it's really a "one or the other" kind of thing. Battles of the mind and body are not mutually exclusive (except where the combatant gets brain damage).

But to put it very simply and bluntly, adrenaline feels good. And if you're asking if we've evolved to the point where people will produce no adrenaline from watching two other people beat the crap out of each other - then the answer is no. No we have not.

Sort:  

I get all sorts of adrenaline flowing during intellectual debates. I love adrenaline! As a surfer and pole-vaulter I ate it up. I also see the change in myself and recognize that desire can be redirected if we so choose. The brain mechanics are the same, but we're no longer running from lions for survival. We can redirect towards more beneficial outcomes, if we work to do so.

What do battles of the body produce? Entertainment for some, but not much more than that.

As for battles of the mind, they produce greater intelligence for everyone who participates in the experience.

Yeah I agree with that. Battles of the mind are definitely more productive and a worthy goal.

It's just barely related but it reminds me of something from a documentary I saw a while back advocating private schools. I remembered it when John Stossel recently covered it for Reason: https://reason.com/reasontv/2017/08/23/stossel-south-korea-schools-india-pay

There's a really interesting interview with a teacher in Korea making 7 figures! Seems like a lot of the problems in society might just have market solutions.

Great post, thank you. Seems like another example of governments with their non-natural monopolies and the lack of price discovery messing stuff up. Even at $1 a day, when the market wants something via demand, supply will show up.

It's positive that people wanting that adrenaline kick can get it from two consensenting proxies rather than seeking to commit violence themselves. That shows progress.

I agree, it certainly beats hangings and burning cats in bags. It does actually represent progress. And... I think we can still do better as far as meeting those desires.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43