You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Philosopher as Clown & the Clown as Philosopher: Nietzsche & Oscar Wilde

in #philosophy6 years ago

So much more to say about those 2, I hardly know where to begin. But, you are right to suggest that it ended badly for both, as they became "victims of their own opinions."

Wilde, of course, could be a lot of fun, which is why Churchill (another wit) admired him. Then, again, Wilde had a strong self-destructive streak, and his philosophy, devolved into a coarse praise of hedonism, cruelty, wickedness.

There's nothing "horrible" about the Uberman. Properly understood, it was a spiritual term, and referred to transcendence ('Man is something that must be overcome') . But the way it was distorted by his sister, who sold it to Hitler, while Nietzsche was insane and in her care, that is horrible.

There is far more I could say about those difficult two contrarians, the heroes of my youth, that I chose to leave out, so as not to dampen the fun. But, suffice to say, I don't turn to them, now.

Thanks, for hearing me out, Pryde, and sweet dreams _/|\_

Sort:  

That is very interesting to consider uberman to be a spiritual term. I may have to do more research. Have a good night:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32