You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I wonder where many of these religions really started...

Great questions! Not speaking as an expert or anything but I think people search for God and religion for different reasons be it the search for meaning, order, fear, or peace of mind; and the history of religions shows a wide variety of understandings that probably reflects that. But the whole "my god is better than your god" aspect of it is absolutely nuts and dangerous which I alluded to in a post I just put up myself on the dangers of revelation.

I can understand the importance of religion in the past through a historical and cultural perespective, but today, as we approach a more universal understanding of the condition of man, I think it can be unfortunately limiting.

Sort:  

Thanks. I generally agree with what you said, at least in the first paragraph.. And I'll have to check out your page and see what your article says, but.. I would disagree a bit on the second part.
Religion pretty much just means what you believe about existence.. I think we all are religious and probably always will be as long as we are thinking creatures.. I don't see religion as bad, just when people corrupt it as they often do and have belief systems that are unjust or that harm others unfairly.

I think we are in agreement then as in that last paragraph I was referring specifically to the more dogmatic, traditional religions. It was a bit of a blanket statement and as such, flawed in its own right.

I think it's inevitable for us to talk about God because of our nature. I believe the search for and worship of God to be a good thing, but as you pointed out, once it becomes corrupted and used to divide instead of unite, it's a very dangerous thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52