You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Theoretical vs Practical Truths - Thoughts on how to have healthy discussions

in #philosophy7 years ago

Excellent advice. I find myself in debates like this all the time in my life as well, and sometimes it is hard to stay objective in the moment. Realizing the difference between theoretical and practical truths, and from which side you and the person opposite you are arguing from is paramount to finding the common ground.
One of the things that I find most helps accomplish this, when the conversation starts to get heated, is to start asking a lot of questions and using more open declarative statements. It tends to lead them back out into the open and less defensive in the conversation. A debate is not the same thing as an argument, or at least it doesn't have to be.

Sort:  

That is correct my friend, you nailed it right in the head! That is what mental ninjistics are all about... you seem to know the path of the ninja... I welcome you to the dojo...

Mental ninjistics, haha! I love it. You could make shirts with that on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57645.95
ETH 2389.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43