When Was The Last Time You Thanked Someone?

in #philosophy7 years ago

The world is moving so very fast nowadays. We don't even have time to think about ourselves, not to mention others. We just keep on working, building, improving, degenerating, improving again, working again, and dying. Even though we still have human emotions, there is basically no place for those emotions, especially if you want to become successful (whatever it means). And so, people forget people.

When was the last time you actually thanked someone for everything they have done to you? Or even for everything, they did not do. When was the last time you just thanked someone for being in your life? And if you did that just because it was necessary because of your social status or future, it does not count. When was the last time you thanked someone just because you wanted to do that and did not expect anything in return?

I am not ashamed to say that I don't appreciate other people efforts enough sometimes. I try to and I am learning how to be supportive and positive around everyone I love, but it is sometimes hard to do. Deny it as much as you want, but people are egoists and they think about their well-being first. And thanking others usually add nothing to your well-being, at least not from the point of view of capitalism. And that sucks big time. And that is the world.

However, I am taking this free time between my holidays to spend some time with my friends and thank them for being close and helping me whenever I need help. That feels great, to be honest. I will definitely do it again in like a year or two after I fulfill my egoistic dreams again. Just joking. It might take at least 5 years.

As for now, take a minute and go to your beloved ones and tell them that you are glad that they are with you. It might feel weird, look weird, and probably your beloved ones won't understand what the hell is wrong with you, but just do it. It feels so great.

Sort:  

"Weigh a sense of proportion in expressing gratitude."
Friedrich Hebbel

This is honestly more true than we'd like to admit. We thank people who might do us a favor but we don't always necessarily appreciate those who do the little things for us day to day. Those are probably the ones who deserve the most thanks too.

yeah, and that is pretty sad, but we can change that little by little!

Thank you for asking the question. Instantly it made me think about my loved ones and their unconditional love towards me.
Thank you, once again!
Keep up on inspiring!

I am happy you feel this way spellmaker!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80